Yarn Along Just Before Thanksgiving

Joining Ginny and her reading peeps this morning on a Yarn Along because, after all, two of my favorite things are knitting and reading.  Or, in my case, knitting and listening to books is even better.

After visiting Vanderbilt’s Biltmore Estate last month I thought I would read Edith Wharton’s The Age of Innocence.  The book was first published in 1920 and won the Pulitzer Prize in 1921.

First Edition Cover

The novel centers around several rich families in New York and their preoccupation with reputation and appearance. Written by Wharton in her late 50s, her title refers to a bygone age of innocence that was dramatically changed with the first World War.  Though this book is a work of fiction, I believe the Vanderbilt family would have been one of these wealthy families.

As I listen to the book this week I am working exclusively on my Portulaca Cardigan.  The first sleeve is complete and I just started the second sleeve.

One thing I especially  like about having a reverse stockinette sleeve is the smoothness of the stitches on the inside of the sleeve.  Not only does it feel  smooth and comfortable against my skin and but it also slides on easily.

6 thoughts on “Yarn Along Just Before Thanksgiving

  1. Happy Thanksgiving! I was there last month as well, I think maybe the 2nd. Your sleeve is lovely, as I imagine the entire sweater is!

Leave a comment