Sleepy Little Texas Town

A courthouse in the middle of a sleepy southern town, not unlike many other town squares in the south, but this one is in my sleepy town.  This is where we are for the time being, at least until we get my father-in-law’s house sold. I walked around the square this morning on well worn brick sidewalks and tried to take it all in with my camera. We don’t know how long we will be down here but enjoying our stay in this small community in East Texas.

My Little Town

I felt a little like I had stepped back into an Andy Griffith from the sixties, the episode where you transition from black-and-white to color.
My Little Town

There was no sign of Andy socializing with male friends in the Main Street barber shop but I half expected barber Floyd Lawson to step out for a smoke.
My Little Town

When I saw this bicycle I remembered Opie’s bicycle. I always pictured that bike painted red. Do you remember how he tested his father’s parenting skills episode after episode?

Antique stores lining the square made me think of the service station attendants and cousins Gomer Pyle and Goober Pyle, what names! I even flashed back to seeing these kind of signs when I was a young girl.
My Little TownDo you remember back this far?  Prince Albert in a can? Anyone?

My Little TownThere was the fu-fu side of the square, you know, the sidewalk with the cute little boutique shops?
My Little Town

with cutesy decorated birdhouse entrances …
My Little Town

And then there was the artsy ghetto down a side street that popped me right back into present time color, no polaroids here.
My Little Town My Little Town
Art matters, yes it does, doesn’t it?

My Little Town//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js
 
My Little Town
Coming off the side street I bounced between time zones..
I didn’t see the local Maybury drunkard, Otis Campbell, but I’m pretty sure he will be attending the Haunted House at the Athen’s Brewery on Halloween.
 

Leave a Reply

