New Year Knitalongs

The first Progressive Needles Knit Along of 2016 started today over on KnitPurl Hunter’s website.   Ambiguous, a cowl, promises to sharpen my stranded knitting technique.   It will be a double-sided cowl featuring HiKoo’s Sueno – my colors are charcoal and silver sage and will hopefully showcase whatever design Michelle has in store for us.

Ambiguous Yarn

My first task today was to determine which color to use for the background and which will be used for the pattern’s design or main color.  I’ve  chosen two highly contrasting colors and each color must be given its assignment.  My gut reaction is to have the lighter design work on top of a dark background but that is what I always do so I think I’m going to go against convention and do it the other way around.  I think it will look better with the coat I plan to wear the cowl with.  I wasn’t quite ready to cast on today so when my head hits the pillow tonight will think on it a little longer.  Tomorrow morning I will review the video on provisional cast ons, wind my skeins into center-pull balls and start the cowl.

I am also knitting a pair of stranded socks with a group on Ravelry working their way through the Nancy Bush sock books.  She has long been a favorite designer of mine so it has been pleasant to see a sock pattern pop up in the group that I have not yet knit.

 

Huron Sock

It will be a month filled with stranded color work!

Leave a Reply

