Weekend Weaving ~ Tea Towels

Last weekend I was busy putting together the Harp Forte Rigid Heddle Loom that I got for Christmas from Mr. Claus and Elf Daughter #2.
IMG_1966

It took longer than I thought it was going to take, several hours in fact, and I was slightly overwhelmed by the process but in the end I was proud of myself for successfully using an electric screwdriver. (I do hope this loom doesn’t fall apart on me at some point.)

IMG_1967

Sunday afternoon was spent putting on a warp using the warping board on the back of the Harp, a special feature that sold me on this particular loom. The warp are the strings that run up and down the project.

IMG_1972

I had to figure out the best route to use between pegs that would give me a 2.5 foot warp which would be enough to make two tea towels.

IMG_1971

There will be green vertical and horizontal stripes on a white cotton background. The greatest care was taken removing the warp from the warping board and little bows were tied here and there in case a catastrophe happened. The warp was then chain crocheted to keep it tidy for threading through the heddle.

Chained Warp

I didn’t take any pictures dressing the loom which took another hour or two but all was ready to weave Monday morning.

Hemstitch at end of First Towel

One tea towel has been completed. The weaving looks a little loose to me but I believe the fibers will fluff out after its first washing. I finished it off with a tidy hemstitch and now I’m ready to move on to the second tea towel.

Tea Towel Weaving

That Longaberger Umbrella basket in the background is perfect container for all my new weaving accessories!

2 thoughts on “Weekend Weaving ~ Tea Towels

Leave a Reply

