Sometimes All it Takes

Sometimes all it takes is the transition of one year into another to get  enough gumption to tackle all the little procrastinations that have piled up in the fiber bins.  The gruesome task of rummaging through those bins and rounding up unfinished projects is over and I have contemplated the eminent future of each one.    Away go the Christmas decorations of 2015 and out comes the list of all unfinished projects from the past.  This list will dictate what I will be tackling this month as the new year begins.
Goodbye Christmas 2015

I have a friend who dresses like she stepped out of a time machine stuck in the sixties.  We fondly refer to her as ‘Hippie Shari’ and she wears the craziest things.  Back in October she was at my house working on her third Ojo de Dios Shawl and she left the pattern at my house.  Out of curiosity I pulled out some Noro yarn to knit one of these triangles on the border.  One triangle led to another triangle and before I knew it I had a ‘Shari Made Me Do It’ shawl.  You know where curiosity leads!
Hippie Shawl Blocking

So I have a ‘hippie’ shawl and I guess I’m at a certain age where I’m brave enough to wear whatever I want, after all I grew up in the sixties and came of age in the seventies so I qualify to return to my youth.  Right?
IMG_2002

This unique, and possibly absurd, hippie shawl will wrap securely around a denim shirt and I will remember how, once upon a time in the mid-seventies, I embroidered a denim shirt.

Wild and Crazy Backside

The New Year was ushered in without a hullabaloo.  I was quite sleepy and didn’t even stay up to watch the fireworks launched by the Add-A-Man Club on top of Pikes Peak.  I woke up feeling the enormity of my UFO List and tackled it straightaway…… the scissors were pulled out ….. and ……

Snip, snip

snip…snip…snip… I trimmed my very first fair isle project, a sweater converted to a vest endeavor that never quite made it to completion, to an 18 x 18 square.  This took a lot of courage because I have been cleaving to the idea of finishing it for several years.  I thought long and hard about cutting into this fair isle and finally concluded I would enjoy it more as a pillow.

18 x 18

I’ve ordered a down pillow form and crossed of another item on my list as I think how handsome my hubby would be if I knit this pattern again, only this time as a sweater for him.

6 thoughts on “Sometimes All it Takes

  1. i admire your willingness to transform your unfiinished fair isle knitting into a pillow. What a great idea! Good luck working through the other UFOs! My UFOs are all unfinished quilts, and my goal is to complete 16 of them in 2016 … and still manage some knitting time as well. Happy New Year!

  2. Happy New Year! Do love your hippie shawl 🙂 Hope to work on those UFO’s in 2016 also… Need to stay focused. (just might need a hippie shawl of my own ~ focus, yea right)

Leave a Reply

