Fall Essentials Sew Along 2015

Last fall I wanted to participate in the Fall Essentials Sew Along but I didn’t get my act together in time.  I’m ready and willing this year!  The aspen are starting to turn and there is a nip in the air so I have fall on my mind and my wardrobe could use a few new additions.

ABOUT THE SEW ALONG

  • hosted by Rhinestones and Telephones
  • it runs from September 12 through November 14, 2015 (yep, it has already started and I’m just getting around to blogging about it.
  • there are seven categories for fall/winter to kick off the creative planning
  1.  Fashionable Foundations for Frosty Weather – Trousers, skirts, leg warmers and more!  Anything that keeps your lower portion fashionably cozy fits perfectly here!
  2. Chic Chemises for Cold Climates – Blouses, tops, vests, cardigans, and sweaters!  These wardrobe essentials can carry you from day to night, not to mention provide necessary layering to keep out the chill.
  3. Fabulous Frocks – Dresses of all styles; mini midi, or long!  Keep yourself warm in your modish designs layering with tights and boots!
  4. Underneath It All – When you are spending months covered from the neck down, a glamorous underpinning of your choice adds a secret, luxurious touch that chases the cold away!
  5. Tender Tootsies – Let’s not forget your frosty feet!  Socks, slippers and the like are the order of the day.  Keep those tootsies warm and dry.
  6. Those Cozy Nights – Is there anything better than snuggling up in a cozy pair of pajamas with a hot drink and a book whilst Jack Frost works his magic outside?  I think not!  Sleepwear of all types are the way to go here!
  7. Baby It’s Cold Outside – Coats, hats, and mittens donned to keep the cold at bay, especially when out enjoying the spectacular fall colors!

 

I started some soft and cozy pajama bottoms in a cute Riley Blake print, kind of a bookworm print.  I will be hanging out around the house in these with a long-sleeved teeshirt and reading a book or two.

IMG_1742

I also started a Schoolhouse Tunic in Amy Butler Alchemy this afternoon which I plan to wear with jeans or leggings.

IMG_1750

Amy Butler’s Liverpool is on my Fall sewing list.  I haven’t decided it it will be a tunic or shirt.  I’ve been drawn to this pattern for a long time and there are many Amy Butler fabric prints that will work well with this pattern.

img_pattern_amy_butler_27_LRG

The “Liverpool”  Tunic or Shirt by Amy Butler 

toppers-5_medium

toppers-cover_medium2

To Knit – Anvard Boot Toppers by Romi Hill 

_PLY0068-01_medium2

To Knit – Infinity Baby Alpaca Scarf

One thought on “Fall Essentials Sew Along 2015

Leave a Reply

