Master Knitting Monday

Still plodding along, trying to master the fine and ancient art of knitting……

The two lace patterns have been written and the corresponding swatches have been knit.  I have to weave a couple ends in and attach the swatch labels and I can check these off my swatch list in TKGA Master Knitting Level Two.

IMG_1304

There is a lace gauge worksheet I’ve been putting off doing along with several questions on gauge issues with lace.

IMG_1307

Barbara Walker’s Knitting Treasuries have been an excellent pattern resource to help me choose the two lace patterns I went with.  I have the first three Treasuries and hope to get the fourth Treasury soon.  The above swatch is called English Mesh Lace.

The one below is an Openwork Diamond pattern.IMG_1305

Most of the research has been done for the questions that go along with these swatches.  Several dealt with what ‘multiples’ were in a pattern and what ‘repeats’ were.  A couple of my resources seem to contradict what I think the committee is looking for (based on an article in Cast On Magazine by a committee member) so I’m not sure if my answer will ‘pass.’

IMG_1308

Five book reports are required for this level and I just started reading the first of five.  So far it is very interesting and I feel like I’m sitting listening to a grandma who has years and years of wisdom under her belt.  If I glean any purls of wisdom then I will pass them along in another update.

3 thoughts on “Master Knitting Monday

  1. Lovely swatches! I’ve thought about doing the Master Knitting Program, but can’t seem to decide if I want to or not. Are you enjoying it ?

    • I am enjoying the Master Knitting courses, Tina. I think they are worth the time invested in them . I am taking my time going through the levels. That is actually one of the nice things about it – you aren’t under time restraints.

Leave a Reply

