Friday Fiber

With names like Nirvana and Cumulus one can only hope the yarn will like up to what it is named.  Two yarn shipments arrived in my mailbox this week, one from across the Atlantic and the other wrapped with a lavender sachet.  They both are exquisite and they both are appropriately named.

Fyberspate’s Cumulus was the yarn called for in a pattern that I ‘won’ in the Romi Designs group on Ravelry for participating in the April challenge.  My challenge was to finish the Eiregal shawl in my last blog post which I did. I won the drawing and  I received a coupon for any of Romi’s patterns and I chose Virga, a lace poncho I had been eyeing.  Mine will be knit in the identical color using the same yarn – no surprise, I always seem to want it exactly as the designer knit it.

IMG_1193

True to its name, CUMULUS is soft as a cloud.  This light fingering weight yarn is 74% Baby Suri Alpaca and 25% Mulberry Silk.  It will be a joy to knit!

IMG_1197

When I was visiting my parent’s in Texas last week my mother picked out a shawl for me to knit for her Christmas present.  I usually surprise her with a pattern but this time I thought she would enjoy picking out one herself. She chose Buds of May, a Sunday Knits pattern.  We went to Carol Sunday’s web site and she spared no expense picking out the yarn she wanted it to be knit with – hey, all the more fun for my fingers and she is paying, right?

IMG_1209

I know already that Nirvana is going to spoil me forever.  I am at very high risk this week of becoming a yarn snob.  This is the softest of yarns!  It is 92% finest merino and 8% cashmere.  Carol’s website says that after 100 blind-folded test touches 100% said the 8% cashmere does make a difference.  I don’t have to blind-folded to know that because just unwrapping the yarn had me ‘eweing and ahhhhhhing’.

IMG_1207

Like Alice Starmore, when you receive a package from Sunday Knits you feel as if you were opening a birthday present.  Carol wraps her yarn up in tissue paper with her pretty seal and includes a lavender sachet in the bag which smells wonderful.

I’m leaving the purple knits of spring and I see the summer before me filled with lovely blue knits.

Knit and be happy!

One thought on “Friday Fiber

Leave a Reply

