Yarn Along by the Fireplace

Because I love both knitting and reading I enjoy joining Ginny and others on a Yarn Along every Wednesdays.  I’ve seen many beautiful hand knits and have added books to my ever growing book list by following all the Yarn Along links.

IMG_0920

I’m knitting by a roaring fire today because it is snowing outside and I’m working on a RomiDesign, Teresa’s Vacation Scarf.

This is part of the 7 Small Shawls – Year Four: Friends series.  The center part has a a simple lace pattern that is mostly stockinette but each end section has some beautiful lace which you can’t see.  I’ll show you in a follow-up post.  But today?  Well, today is all about  what book

I am reading.

YA Chimney Sweepers 1

Hot off the press is a new Flavia de Luce novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, Alan Bradley.  This seventh book in the series has another clever name, As Chimney Sweepers Come to Dust and continues the outrageous sleuthing career of its precocious preteen leading lady, Flavia.  This young chemist and aspiring detective retains her droll wit as she goes abroad to the boarding school her mother attended as a child.  I’m halfway through the book and it is delightful.

So, what are you knitting/crocheting right now?  Read any good books lately?

5 thoughts on “Yarn Along by the Fireplace

  1. I just a few minutes ago finished “The Devil’s Edge” by Stephen Booth. This is a detective series also, set in Derbyshire, UK. I have decided that this year I will balance knitting with reading…so off to bed I go to start a new book. You have snow…is it just in the mountains?

  2. Hello. This is such a lovely shawl you are knitting. I love the color of the yarn you’re using. I have the first of this book series and haven’t read it yet. I started but then forgot about it. I know it’s a fun series to read. Right now I’m trying to finish up a knitted scarf before I cast on for some socks. Have a great day.

  3. Today I am going to a 4-day quilting retreat, but have two small knitting projects with me to work on while watching NCAA basketball games in the evenings. The primary project is a white shrug for my oldest granddaughter for Easter; secondary is continuing work on a pair of black socks for me.
    I have listened to the audio version of all the previous Flavia de Luce books and have this one downloaded and ready. They are delightful books!

    • That retreat sounds like fun! I’m just now getting back into quilting. I’m going to take a look at your project page to see if there is anything there I might like to knit my granddaughter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

