Code Breaker – Step 1

I have picked the secret word that will be knit into my CODE BREAKER socks.  I’ve assigned each letter a number according to my code breaking cypher.  This will be how many rows I will knit for each letter.  The next decision to be made will be whether to use only two colors or to choose one color for each letter of my secret word.  Since I want to use up some of my fingering weigh leftovers I have decided to use multiple colors.

My secret word has six letters so I have picked six colors of yarn that I think will work with each other.  I’ve decided to go ahead and make the cuff, heel and toes shades of gray.  I am hoping I have enough of the one gray I have selected but, if I don’t will just find another shade – not sweating this one.  I think any neutral would work for this.  Now keeping track of how many rows to knit for you secret word letter, knitting in the right color and following the knitting design pattern is a bit like patting your head and rubbing your tummy at the same time.  It will test your ability to write secret messages in your knitting but keep that pencil and paper by your side and I know you can do it.

CUFF

Using the long-tail cast on, CO 60 sts.

Divide sts as follows on your choice of needle:

4 dpn – 12, 18, 30

5 dpn – 12, 18, 12, 18

2 circular needles or Magic Loop – 30, 30

RIBBING

Join, being careful not to twist stitches.  Work *p1, k4, p1* ribbing for 1-1/2″.

IMG_0797

In case you have forgotten the code breaking cypher, here it is:

  1. A
  2. B
  3. C
  4. D
  5. E
  6. F
  7. G
  8. H
  9. I
  10. J
  11. K
  12. L
  13. M
  14. N
  15. O
  16. P
  17. Q
  18. R
  19. S
  20. T
  21. U
  22. V
  23. W
  24. X
  25. Z

IMG_0792

Plain stockinette would have been too easy of a code to break so I added a pattern that seemed in keeping with the whole business of breaking codes.

LEG

Rnds 1, 3, 5, 7, 9:  *P1, K4, P1, rep from *.

Rnds 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 18:  Knit.

Rnds 11, 13, 15, 17, 19:  *K2, P2, K2, rep from *.

Rnd 20: Knit.

Repeat rnds 1-20.

Now I guess I would have enjoyed being a code-breaker because I really enjoy making charts and knitting from charts.  Here is the chart I made for CODE BREAKER.

CodeBreakerChart

It just so happens that I was able to knit the entire “secret” word in the leg of the sock and now am ready to start the heel.  The sock is 7-1/2″ long, cuff included – a nice cozy length.

I have a long way to go in learning color combinations and sometimes I look at my colors is this sock and they please my eye and other times they do not.  I would absolutely be thrilled if others knit their own CODE BREAKER SOCKS so I could see (and learn) from their color choices.

Happy Knitting (and deciphering)!

Leave a Reply

