Code Breaker Socks

1280px-Bletchley_Park_-_Draco2008

Bletchley Park, in Buckinghamshire, was the central site of the United Kingdom’s Government Code and Cypher School (GC&CS). During the Second World War code breakers regularly penetrated the secret communications of the Axis Powers – most importantly the German Enigma and Lorenz ciphers. It has been stated that the “Ultra” intelligence produced at Bletchley shortened the war by two to four years, and that without it the outcome of the war would have been uncertain. The site is now an educational and historical attraction memorialising and celebrating those accomplishments.  If I ever make my way over the Atlantic to England again it will be on my list of ‘must sees’.

The theme this month in the Sock Knitters Anonymous group on Ravelry is Science/Math/Computer Technology inspired.  Having just finished a BBC series on Netflix called Bletchley Circle I immediately wanted to incorporate code deciphering into a sock.  Bletchley Circle is about women code breakers in WW2 who continue to use their code breaking abilities to solve murders.  I enjoyed the two seasons I watched.

My creative juices have been all awhirl thinking about breaking codes, using deciphering machines and all the secrecy involved in code-breaking.  I am going to create some Code Breaker Socks with a secret name held within its stitches and I will create them using my top secret cipher.  My sock will be a stripe pattern with the width of each stripe determined by the letter in the name or code word.  The design pattern I will be knitting within the stripes will be my interpretation of breaking a code.

IMG_0784

I’m off to break my code with my top secret cipher and, when I am done cracking the code, I will pass the pattern on to you!

  1. A
  2. B
  3. C
  4. D
  5. E
  6. F
  7. G
  8. H
  9. I
  10. J
  11. K
  12. L
  13. M
  14. N
  15. O
  16. P
  17. Q
  18. R
  19. S
  20. T
  21. U
  22. V
  23. W
  24. X
  25. Y
  26. Z

When I am done cracking the code, I will pass the pattern on to you!

4 thoughts on “Code Breaker Socks

  1. Have you seen the movie “The Imitation Game”….so amazing…and something I hadn’t thought of before…..when they broke the code, they couldn’t be obvious about the fact that they had…..how complicated it all was! I look forward to the reveal of the Code word 🙂 How fun!

    Thank you for linking to my blog on your blog. I just noticed that your link takes you to my old page…and maybe you might like to update this link? to http://lifelackadaisical.blogspot.ca

    Thanks so much!

    • I have not seen that movie yet, Anne but want to. I really enjoyed The Bletchley Circle and those women could never reveal to anyone what they did in the war!

      I will be happy to change the link to your site.

  2. I love your creativity and am thrilled to find your blog! I’ve got to get mine updated. Looking forward to working up Code Breakers too 🙂

Leave a Reply

