Nøstepinne

I bought a nøstepinne last night at spinning group.  Nøstepinne.  I love that word.  noh-ste-pin.

Up until last night I knew they existed but I didn’t really know what they were used for.  I actually thought it was some kind of spindle, perhaps a type of Russian supported spindle.  Last night my friend and I were admiring the wooden beauty of several nøstepinnes in our LYS as we waited for all the spinners to arrive.  We asked the shop owner what a nøstepinne was and she told me it was the traditional way to wind center-pull balls before there were the current day center-pull ball winders.  “Nøstepinne” or “nøstepinde” is the Scandinavian term for a special yarn-winding tool.

Nøstepinne

Nøstepinnes are basically a shaped stick of wood.  They can be anything from an elaborate, turned wood piece to the end of a spindle or wooden spoon. When I got home I read that you can use the body of your niddy noddy if one of the heads comes off.  This one is about 12 inches long with a shaped handle to hold (on the right) narrowing down to a neck (on left) where the yarn can be tied on.

I asked why I should use a nøstepinne instead of the ball winder and swift I had at home.  The spinners in the group made a case for the nøstepinne that sold me within minutes.  First of all, they are portable.  Second, they are relatively cheap and fun to collect.  Thirdly, it is part of the history of spinning. Forthly, they can double as a spinning bobbin in a pinch to wind off yarn from a spindle.  Really?  That last idea had me brainstorming all the way home last night.

My two Jenkins turkish spindles, by the very nature of their design and the mechanics of winding on, will produce a center pull ball when the cross arms are removed and will be all ready for plying.

IMG_9754

But as I spin on my Cascade Mt. St. Helens the fiber is wrapped around the shaft and will need to be removed after the shaft is full.  From there it is wound around a ball or wound with the ball winder to make a center-pull ball.  Why not use a nøstepinne for this?  Yes!  They make a perfect portable pair!  If fact, I am wondering if you had several nøstepinnes, as in “collecting” them, why could you not put them into a shoebox drilled with holes and plied directly from the shaft of the nøstepinne itself.

IMG_9742

A perfect little match So together like a hand and glove…….. (that song has been in my head the whole time I have been writing this post)

Hand and Glove

 

And, they even fit in the Paris box together — at least for now.  I guess after I get more spun unto the St. Helens there might not be room for the nøstepinne.  But then, there will also be less fiber to spin in the box.

IMG_9750

Anyone have any nøstepinne experiences they want to share?  I will have to spin a little more until I can try this “gadget” of olden times out!  Hopefully, with a little practice, I will be able to quickly and easily wind a beautiful center-pull ball of yarn using no more than this simple, but beautiful, tool.  I know it will take some practice to wind neatly and evenly but it seems like a pleasant enough pastime

IMG_9748

Leave a Reply

