Yarn Along on a Day for Plying

IMG_9337Having been a fan of Sherlock Holmes since my childhood, it has been no surprise to me that watching Sherlock on Masterpiece Classic has nudged me into re-reading some of the more famous Sherlock stories.  As I have watched the Sherlock created for television I have wondered how closely they follow the book. Last week I read A Study in Scarlet and thoroughly enjoyed it.

I was amused when John Watson, having been flabbergasted upon learning Sherlock did not know the planets revolved around the sun, took it upon himself to compile a list of Sherlock’s bizarre knowledge base.

image

imageI think what I enjoyed most about A Study in Scarlet are the roots of the story taking place in our American west, specifically the Wasatch mountain range which I can see in the distance from Cripple Creek.  The story is very logical the way it is written and unlike the hard to follow PBS version, A Study in Pink.  The original story is much better.  There are similar things in the television version but the original plot does not come close to Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s version.  I loved the story, I truly did, and am itching to tell you all about it but would much rather you read the original.

image

Today is a day for plying.  I have spun two singles from the Spin Off Fiber Club I mentioned a few weeks ago.  This will be my second time plying and I think I probably need to spend a few minutes watching Maggie Casey’s Spinning video to refresh my memory.  I will show the end result next week when I join Ginny on another Yarn Along.

IMG_9337

Happy reading!  Happy knitting!

2 thoughts on “Yarn Along on a Day for Plying

  1. I think we are going to watch Sherlock tonight for the first time. I’m looking forward to it. I’m also looking forward to seeing how your yarn looks after it’s plyed.

Leave a Reply

