Reindeers and Cats

What do they have in common, these reindeers and cats?  They both deliver anticipation, delight and satisfaction, that’s what!  Santa’s reindeer arrived early at my house yesterday.  My long awaited Schacht Matchless spinning wheel arrived after friend Nikki and I experienced a very long month of anticipation.  We squealed like schoolgirls when her husband, who had driven to Boulder to pick them up, pulled into the shop parking lot.  Just like the weather man gives children radar reports of Santa’s whereabouts on Christmas Eve, Nikki had been tracking the truck’s whereabouts on her phone and pacing her yarn shop like a restless tiger (love-you-Nikki).  To say we were delighted when our Santa walked through the door delivering our wheels is an understatement.  To say we are totally satisfied with our new Schacht wheels cannot be stated enough!

IMG_9143

Now I know some of you might have furrowed brows thinking, ‘Isn’t this that woman that went on and on about her precious Schacht Ladybug spinning wheel and kept putting photos on her blog like someone with an addled brain?’  Yes, that would be me.  And I really loved that Ladybug and she was truly a sweet wheel but there was a problem.  Go back to your youth and see if you can recall a time when you dated someone who really liked you and who actually was a pretty nice guy with nothing wrong with him but……… you had a crush on someone else that you thought was a little out of your league and he was magnificent!  For some of you it may have been that football quarterback but for me it was Sean Connery.  (Actually, I think we better take our minds further back to junior high school when you first started dating all those awkward gangly boys and the cute high school guys were around).  Although, I probably should confess here and now that Sean Connery still makes my heart throb and my husband is fine with it.

IMG_9137

Where am I going with this?  Well, the Matchless is my ‘Sean Connery’ of spinning wheels.  I admired it and drooled over it two years ago when I was at the Taos Sheep and Wool Festival when I saw a husband and wife spinning together and they each had their own Matchless wheels.  I was so smitten that I took my husband the next day to show him and I said, ‘Look what we can do together some day when you retire’!  That probably won’t happen but Nikki’s husband (our Santa) does want to spin on a wheel and he is just as excited about it as she is so maybe there is hope for mine.

To end a story that is growing longer and longer, I sold my Ladybug to a knitting friend and upgraded to my Sean Connery.  Well, how about that!  I have been playing with names in my head for this new Matchless and I just realized that it has already named itself.  I will call it Sean!  What do you think?

IMG_9135

The last orifice hook I had came with a little string on it so that it could be hung on a screw when not in use.  It was a little bit of a pain trying to get my fingers through the loop so this time I thought something rigid would be better, something that just hooked over the screw.  I have been using these pretty ornament hooks for my Advent board each day and grabbed one for my orifice hook.  It works!  And, it won’t slow my spinning down one bit!

IMG_9139

You can probably guess why some certain colorful kitties are delivering anticipation, delight and satisfaction.  Jen of Yarnings had a flashback to a childhood cartoon when she read my initial post about the Catvent Quilt.  She remembered the cartoon in which a skunk named Pepe LePaw was head over heels in love with a beautiful cat who, of course, was totally turned off by his aftershave cologne.  I flashed back to my childhood and remembered that same cartoon.  She did a bit of research on Wikipedia and learned that the cat’s name was Penelope so my first pink cat has been given that name.  I think the printed fabric is appropriate for the flourished words of Pepe LePaw who was quite the French romantic.

IMG_9071

Cat 3 – Penelope

I also knew that she would have to be pink because when my daughter-who-is-now-a-mommy was a little girl I smocked her a bright pink blouse that had skunks marching across it.  It had a black and white houndstooth skirt that buttoned onto the blouse and it was always a favorite of mine.

IMG_9132

The orange kitties are about to be pieced together.  I’m delighting in colors that I usually don’t get to play with and as I see the kitties all lined up together on the linen chambray background I anticipate what the next color introduction do to the overall appearance.  Any suggestions for orange kitty Qnames?

5 thoughts on “Reindeers and Cats

  1. Rebecca, what an entertaining post ! Post of posts ! You’ve been reining back that personality I tell you ! 😉 You’ve got yourself a mighty fine wheel now and I can predict that homespun luxury yarns are going to be your medium of choice for many of your future great knitting Oh and Pink Penelope sounds sweet, and I’m honored for the mention. ((oh though I do boieve the skunks name is Pepe Le Pew,… as in ‘pee ewww !!!’ )) Penelope Le Paw the kitty sounds fab. 🙂 xx

  2. I’m right with you on the Sean Connery thing. I am pleased you have a nice new wheel for Christmas. Lucky you.

    Like Jen, I have had my ‘cat’ turn but the name that immediately came to my mind was Marmalade.

  3. Congratulations on your new spinning wheel. I have a Ladybug which I love but somehow this year, i lost my spinning mojo. Have fun on your new wheel and wishing you happy spinning in 2014!

  4. congratulations ! I’m not giving in to the temptation to get a wheel. I figure if I’m lucky I’ll finish knitting and sewing up my stash as well as the odd yarny purchase. So I’ll enjoy yours vicariously.

Leave a Reply

