Thoughts on Deadlines

These deadlines, these deadlines!  Isn’t knitting supposed to be relaxing?   I commit myself to far more knitalongs than it is possible for me to do. I think I sign up for the camaraderie and the extra little push to finish a project within a reasonable time frame.  Instead of hearing my needles make a soothing and steady ‘click-clack’ , I find mine going ‘click-ity-clack-ity-click-ity-clack-clack-clack’ at a breakneck speed to finish whatever I am working on before the deadline expires.

IMG_8722

And with that said, I present my newly finished Colormatic Cowl that was knit for the October-November Skacel Progressive Needles KAL.  I finished it this morning  on the day of the deadline.  It has not been blocked yet.

IMG_8723

 

I like this colorful cowl.  It may look like this is stranded knitting but the two patterns are actually slip stitch patterns working with only one color per row….very easy.  It is knit in the round and grafted together at the end with the Kitchener stitch.  I learned to Kitchener in the round!  Project details can be found on my Ravelry page here.

This will be the last knitalong that I will do for a while.  I’m committed to finishing the many things on my needles and starting 2014 out fresh.  I am still trying to knit in snippets of time here and there never going beyond two hours total so those things on the needle may move into springtime knitting.  That will be just fine.  I’m determined to de-stress my ‘relaxing’ hobby.  (And my knitting buddies who read this are probably smirking right now thinking I can’t do it – time will tell,right?)

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on Deadlines

  1. I smurk not! ! ! I know how hard this is and will be. I will try to do the same thing. Hang in there and let’s encourage each other……..

  2. There does seem to plug in to even hobbies, a work ethic, I think. I find myself knitting like there’s no tomorrow, at the neglect of cleaning, gardening, even practicing ! Oh well, lets just go with it I guess. 🙂

Leave a Reply

