Balanced Spinning, Balanced Life

My life has been all out of balance the last six months and my body rebelled in late July.   I won’t bore you with tiresome details other than to say our bodies are not designed to knit for hours and hours day in and day out.  I’m back in physical therapy again twice a week along with therapeutic massage once a week.  It appears that overuse of one muscle group without working its opposing muscle can cause serious problems.  I think I’ve learned this time that I really need moderation in my life.  Instead of being an obsessive knitter falling down the bottomless pit of never ending projects I will attempt to knit a few nice things every year and spend no more than an hour a day knitting.  I will read a little bit every day.  I will spin yarn a little bit every day.  I will sew or quilt a little bit every day.  I will go for long walks and spend time stretching and doing yoga.  I will take time to balance my meals, blog a little and play with my camera.  Okay, that’s enough balance and you are probably looking back at the date on this blog post to see if it is 1 January.

672c7e453f91067022b6c3641193c026

A year ago I went to the Taos Wool Festival and took a spindling class.  I have enjoyed playing with my spindle this year but have not produced a full bobbin in a whole year.  Although I like the portability of a spindle I found myself being drawn to spinning with a wheel.  A couple years ago I saw several of my blogging friends (PatsKnitting, Kathy in Iowa, PAKnitWit) one by one purchasing wheels and I reasoned that I would not follow in their footsteps because there were too many wonderful things to knit and I had no interest in spinning yarn for those things.  But as I watched the hands of spinners in action at the Taos Festival I was mesmerized and when I saw how quickly they turned out yarn my interest began to spark.

e83cb5436e124f18ca46d9ef9c52cb4c

Last month I went to the Colorado Salida Wool festival with some friends.  I told myself I would just check out the spinning wheels while I was there and had no intention of buying one, yet.  I sat down to give the Schacht Ladybug a try.  My feet were totally confused and for some reason my left foot would not work right.  My hands understood what to do because of my spindling experience.  I liked the fact that Schacht spinning wheels were made in Colorado and if there ever was an issue I could take it up to Boulder to be fixed because who wants to ship a spinning wheel?  While the shop owner was giving me a quick spinning lesson a lady walked by and handed her a business card.  She looked at the lady, looked back at me and said, “I want to introduce you to one of the Ladybug design engineers.”  I stood up and handed the wheel over to her and she showed me all the great design features of the Ladybug.  I was smitten.  I bought it and she flipped it over and signed the bottom!

A ladybug is hidden on every Ladybug spinning wheel and here is my little bug girl resting near the wheel.

Lady Bug

So like thousands of fiber enthusiasts before me I have taken my love of all things wooly one step further.  My feet have become coordinated and know how to start, stop, slow down, speed up and reverse the wheel.  My hands have magically figured out what to do although I’m certain the year of spindling helped.   The drafting rhythm mesmerizes me and I find the whole process relaxing.  I have not had time to take a class and what I know is from watching YouTube videos and reading books on spinning.  The ladies on the Schacht Ravelry board have helped a lot, too.

Nests of Fiber

Nests of Fiber all Ready to go!

Ply Party

I think I’m ready for my ‘first’ project so here goes!  I bought some hand painted top from FatCatKnits and will spin two single bobbins and then ply them together.  This project will be on my largest whorl.  The solid Dry Russet is 2 oz. of Falkland.  The lovely Falling Leaves is 2 oz. of 50% Merino/50%Tencel combed top.  I bought them together as a ‘Ply-Party’ not really having the confidence right now to put two colors together.  I think they will look nice together and will be my Autumn spinning adventure.

Wish me luck!  I am off and spinning , with MODERATION, of course!

Dry RussetBy the way, what is the BEST book you read this year?  I need book suggestions.

4 thoughts on “Balanced Spinning, Balanced Life

  1. Rebecca! So good to finally read a new blog post! I have been praying for you and your med concerns. Glad you are on the healing path!
    Good luck on finding balance and moderation….. I struggle with this in my own life, especially in my knitting/quilting/embrodiery life. I am a long arm quilter and I have almost finshed up this years quilting. I always try to have Nov and Dec clear so I can have more time with my own projects and family.
    I’m excited to see more spinning from you. I took a spin class last year and loved it! One day I may also get a wheel. I have used a spindal, but I enjoy the wheel and the gentle give and take with the fiber.
    Good luck and let us hear from you soon!

  2. I came across your pattern for Chili Pepper Socks on Ravelry (thank you!) and began looking at your other info…which brought me to your blog! When I saw that you are also a Colorado girl, I was thrilled 😉
    If it’s any consolation, I too saw my health and fitness begin to spiral when I became a knitting addict several years ago. I took a much needed break from it and then returned by only knitting things I really like for the special people in my life, instead of trying to knit for every new baby at church, or every cute little kid I saw. I also quit looking at knitting blogs and the endless patterns that are no doubt circling the stars. I am still in the process of reducing my insanely huge yarn stash. I have found that having so much yarn on hand prevents me from being able to enjoy new yarn discoveries for my special projects.
    I also have recently begun to consider spinning so I can create my own beautiful yarns…and ordered a “learn to spin” kit this fall. I am interested to see how this new venture goes for you.
    Knitting remains a passion for me, as well as a calming and enjoyable art.
    Here’s to balance in all things, and finding freedom and joy in being more with less. To your health!

  3. Good morning Becky.
    LOoking forward to our visit to the Springs in the morning. The iPad is a complete mystery to me…..lol

Leave a Reply

