Time to Swatch

We are anticipating a blizzard today in the mountains so I think it might be the perfect day to swatch for a couple of sweaters.

20130409-182317.jpg
After determining my body type in the Fit to Flatter course, I have decided to knit the Stoker Pullover first. This beautiful cowl neck sweater with 3/4 sleeves designed by the amazing photographer Caro Sheridan seems like a great place to start trying out some of the things I have learned from the class on getting a great fitting sweater. Stoker is one of the many great patterns in the Knit to Flatter book.

20130409-182458.jpg
The Stoker in the book uses Valley Yarns Stockbridge of which I had none on hand. What I did have I believe is nicer, Berrocco Ultra Alpaca. The color is Mahogany and it looks stunning when the sunlight hits it, a rich golden copper color.

20130409-182839.jpg
It looks darker when there is no sunlight upon it and is still quite lovely. I have knit two swatches and am getting gauge on a larger needle size than suggested in the pattern.

20130409-183346.jpg
Next up will be knitting a couple swatches for Amy Herzog’s Wintry Mix sweater. I have long wanted to knit this sweater and had the Berrocco Blackstone Tweed in my shopping cart that I suddenly remembered some Queensland Kathmandu Aran in my stash in a deep purple color. It has a luscious blend of 85% Merino, 10% Silk, 5% Cashmere wool and knits at the same gauge as the Blackstone Tweed.

I am looking forward to knitting Wintry Mix. It looks comfortable and cozy and, best of all, is constructed almost seamlessly. I am quite certain it will be finished before Stoker since it is knit in the round and will not need to be seamed.

4 thoughts on “Time to Swatch

  1. Wonderful Becky. You really are ambitious…..
    Let me know when would be a good time to stop out and pick up the Holden Shawlette. Thanks so much for your help.

  2. Cozy you knitting, waiting for a storm. I so envy you ! (it’s getting really hot today) That yarn looks really scrumptious , I am going to enjoy watching it turn into something lovely ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

