Yarn Along ~ The Tale of Mrs. Tiggy-Winkle

I’m a little late today chiming in on the Yarn Along with Ginny because I had to put a few finishing touches on a special someone I want you to meet.

You may have already met her in your childhood when you read one of the Beatrix Potter books. Do you remember The Tale of Mrs. Tiggy-Winkle?

“when Lucie lost her handkerchiefs
she never imagined that her search would
end with a kindly washerwoman…”

Mrs. Tiggy-winkle was a hedgehog and she lived in a tiny country cottage. I didn’t meet her until I had my own children and when I read of her I was charmed by Beatrix Potter’s description of her “little black nose that went sniffle, sniffle, snuffle and her eyes that went twinkle, twinkle, twinkle.” Oh how I love twinkling eyes!

Tale_of_Mrs_Tiggy_Winkle

I love all the characters in the Beatrix Potter books but Mrs. Tiggy-winkle was one of my favorites.

mrs_tiggywinkle

I plan to give my granddaughter this wonderful series of books with their colorful characters who have the most charming names. I think I will bring her a Beatrix Potter book every time I visit starting with this one.

Mrs Tiggy-winkle

And now I would like you to meet someone I spent the last few days working on…..

I20130313-162409.jpg
Meet Mrs. Tiggy-winkle!

20130313-162510.jpg
Isn’t she just adorable? I can just envision my sweet granddaughter squeezing Mrs. Tiggy-winkle in her dimpled hands whilst her mom reads her a tale that I once read to her many, many times.

Joining Ginny today in a Yarn Along.

6 thoughts on “Yarn Along ~ The Tale of Mrs. Tiggy-Winkle

  1. Love this Becky…..I like hedgehogs also. This little animal is the mascot of the Five Rivers Bobbin Lace group in Western PA……

  2. oh how adorable! i love mrs. tiggy-winkle and have all the books, and a collection of beswick characters too, i LOVE beatrix potter. your little hedge hog is just perfect!

  3. I absolutely and thoroughly adore Beatrix Potter series ! I aspire to paint like her one day (yeah, when I grow up?) Your cunning plan of having your g.daughter be cast under the Potter spell is lovely 🙂 . I can bet she’ll just become inseperable with her own soft Mrs.Tiggy-winkle, which is clever and convincingly …. a hedgehog ! I can imagine your g.daughter start calling her mommy ‘mum’ too, just like yours did you. ❤

Leave a Reply

