Finishing Rosemarkie – Part One

20130222-103025.jpg

Seriously now? Has it really taken me TWO years to get this vest finished? Shame on me! It is time to cross that finish line and today is the day to start the sprint.

20130222-103057.jpg

This morning I darned all the loose ends on the front and armhole bands using my new favorite weaving tool. I bought this tool at my local craft store in the knitting section.  They come in packs of two and in two differing sizes, mine are the small ones.

20130222-103118.jpg

I have nothing but praise for this little tool. Its flexibility and ease in threading make darning all the easier.  Anything that can make a tedious task go faster is a good thing in my book!

20130222-103141.jpg

After my ends were neatly woven in I trimmed all steeks to a 2 stitch width. Now I’m not one to fear cutting or trimming steeks as some do because I have another handy tool that I have shared before with you.

20130222-103211.jpg

20130222-103253.jpg

I have in my possession some bandage scissors that nurses use when they are trimming away bandages. They are super sharp and can slice with ease through wool. They also have a blunt protective lower blade to insure that the slicing doesn’t go too far, if you know what I mean.

20130222-103231.jpg

My steeks are neatly trimmed and are waiting for the next finishing step.  They will be cross stitched into position. That sounds like a good weekend project!

5 thoughts on “Finishing Rosemarkie – Part One

  1. Yay !!! I have been wondering what happened to your lovely Rosemarkie… now I am so happy for you ! What is a coincidence, is I just got a package in the mail today from Virtual Yarns, and am working on a project right now with Virtual Yarns.. (my own design though)… I just love this yarn !!!! Good for you Rebecca… that you’re so near. I can’t wait to see you in it. 🙂

  2. I have also pulled out my Oregon Vest and have started to knit on it again! Do you use both hands (English and Continental metholds) to do your stranded knitting? Or do you hold both strands in one hand? Your knitting is so even and beautiful!
    Congrats on finishing your Masters Class!

  3. Gorgeous colors. Steeking is something I have yet to venture into. You make it look so easy. I love that Downton Abbey vest too and I am sure you will be able to knit one easily as you are so great with colorwork.

Leave a Reply

