Yarn Along and Perspective

Joining Ginny this morning on a Yarn Along and to share my recent reading and knitting…..

20130220-101626.jpg
Between being sick, making a trip to Texas and helping my daughter move I was unable to finish the book I was suppose to finish for my book club. I will miss the lively discussion this morning on The Noticer but will most definitely continue reading this encouraging book.

Thus far, the gist of The Noticer is that sometimes, all a person needs is a little perspective. Andy Andrews takes the things most humans struggle with – poverty, marriage problems, business failures, old age, etc. – and offers simple wisdom and hope through the mouth of an old drifter named Jones. He has a gift of seeing what others miss and, through his encouragement each character in the book realizes that their is no such thing as a dead end or a hopeless situation. Jones sprinkles “perspective” into each situation and this is especially endearing to me because the longer I live the more I realize that most crises in our lives are not nearly impossible or critical as they seem at the moment we are going through it. And, my own personal belief is that all things happen for a reason to build our character.

Consider it all joy, my brethren, when you encounter various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces endurance. And let endurance have its perfect result, so that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.

James 1:2-4

I continue to read Dale Carnegie’s How to Win Friends and Influence People and it has been an interesting read. Lots of laughter sprinkled with wisdom in that book!

My knitting this week is focused on a little sweater and beret I am knitting for Zoë, my granddaughter. This is her one year old birthday sweater. Every year she will get a “birthday sweater” from her Gran because I am an ordinary grandmother knitting ordinary things for an extraordinary grandchild! It is very hard for me to believe that a whole year has almost passed since she was born. How I long to see her more often! I’m thankful we will be with her soon for her birthday. And, I’m thankful my daughter puts me on the phone speaker so Zoë can hear my voice and I can hear her baby noises.

2 thoughts on “Yarn Along and Perspective

  1. I so enjoyed The Noticer also. Did not get to the discussion either. I have started the next book, but have gotten stalled in the reading. Will give it anothyer try soon. Will you be able to make it on Saturday?

Leave a Reply

