JOY Dare 2013

The JOY Dare impacted my life last year in a wonderful way so I thought I would start over again this month and continue to count.  I didn’t make it to one thousand gifts last year but 2013 is a new year and so the quest for JOY continues……

20130122-114014.jpg

7. for the hug observed, knowing the cost of that hug and how it was made possible
8. for the tear I noticed and learning later the shame of that tear and how we were able to help bear her burden
9. for the friend who made this stitch marker, sometimes prickly and sharp but up close a faithful and dear friend with a heart filled with love

20130122-114315.jpg
10. for the beautiful hand dyed greens in yarn that will be knit into a shawl and worn in Ireland, Lord willing
11. for the opportunity to teach new friends how to knit a shawl as our friendships are knit together along the journey
12. for wrinkled stories of heartache, for bearing one another’s burdens, for words of encouragement and understanding that JOY unfolds from forgiveness

20130123-125816.jpg

13. for my need for a savior because “there is none righteous, not even one (Romans 3:10)” and “all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God (Romans 3:23)
14. for the life giving words of Jesus, “I am the resurrection and life; He who believes in me will live even if he dies, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. (John 11:25-26)
15. for a showering of blessings in my life so that I can say, “the Mighty One has done great things for me; and holy is His name. (Luke 1:49)

20130125-141455.jpg

16. for my daughter finding a house to rent
17. for the color of blue being knit into a temperature scarf reminding that this is the season of cold and I live in a place where I can wear wool
18. for a chapter in a book reminding me to not kick over the beehive if I want to gather honey

20130128-141406.jpg
19. for the manicure my daughter gave me and all the giggles and ‘oopsies’ that came with it
20. for how she always wants to apply my makeup, just like when she was a little girl, to make her mommy pretty
21. for her enthusiasm and endless ideas of DIY projects we can tackle together

20130128-142043.jpg
22. for a beautiful Raggedy Ribbon kit to embellish my felted hat, looking forward to giving this a try
23. for sleeping pups when I’m feeling weary and need to relax
24. for the honor my husband was given yesterday,  a man of integrity

2 thoughts on “JOY Dare 2013

Leave a Reply

