Rocky Mountain Temperature Scarf

I enjoyed knitting my Colorado Sunset Hat last year for the Conceptual Knitters group on Ravelry that I decided to take on another whimsical challenge for 2013. This year I want to knit my Rocky Mountain temperatures into a scarf.

20130110-131311.jpg

Knowing that I will not see temperatures in the fifties until springtime, I only assigned colors for the winter temperatures. Each color covers four degrees. I smiled when I saw the temperature scale people were using in the group and followed suit with them fully knowing that I could carry those temperatures far lower than 28 degrees. But then, come summer, I won’t be coming close to those high temperatures so it all evens out in the end, doesn’t it?

20130110-131330.jpg

It took me a while to decide on a pattern and I changed my mind two or three times. Having liked the outcome of Cheryl’s Utah Sky Scarf, I settled on the Lacy Baktus Scarf. I will do as she did and knit two rows a day. This will make a nice sized triangular shawl to wrap around my neck and it will be very colorful when it is all finished in December.  You can’t really see the pattern much at this point but I will go ahead and show you the first week.

20130110-131341.jpg

EDITED:  I just checked the forecast for this weekend and it looks like the high will be in the lower teens.  I’m seriously contemplating breaking those temperatures down further.

One thought on “Rocky Mountain Temperature Scarf

  1. Oh how clever… temperatures in a scarf ! I think I can visualize the forecast visual gradations… :). We will likely get snow tonight or this weekend !

Leave a Reply

