Itching to Sew a Butterfly Kiss

The summer is halfway over and I had fully intended to sew at least four  summer skirts.  Time to get busy!  There are some great fabrics out there and I do love pretty fabric almost as much as I love yarn.

20120719-154737.jpg
The pattern I will be using is called Butterfly Kisses.  My fabrics of choice are designed by two of my favorite fabric designers, Anna Maria Horner and Amy Butler. I also like wearing tiered skirts. They make me feel so ‘girly-girly’ and who can resist twirling while wearing one?

20120719-155043.jpg

I spent the afternoon cutting strips so I’m ready to pull out the sewing machine and start sewing!  I added a couple inches to each strip to make the skirt a little longer.

20120719-155246.jpg
Not surprising, I ordered two skeins of Madelinetosh Merino Lite from the Loopy Ewe to knit a two-color shawl to complement the skirt. The colors are called Kelp and Maple Leaf. I think they will work well with the skirt but I still have not settled on the pattern.

20120719-160312.jpg
The third Camp Loopy project is supposed to be a two-color 500 yard project. I knit Cladonia last summer and love it but this camp project is to be a new pattern rather than one we have already knit. Whippoorwill by Carina Spencer is a possibility  and Kleio is another but I would dearly love to have other possibilities. I also like Ziggity by Kirsten Kapur.

20120719-160828.jpg

Have any suggestions?

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Itching to Sew a Butterfly Kiss

  1. I love your choice of fabrics & the 2 skeins of yarn are perfect. I like Whippoorwill & will have to knit it one day.

Leave a Reply

