Camp Loopy Girasole Cast-on

One week into the second Camp Loopy project, three weeks to go and I’m wondering if I had a ‘senior’ moment when I selected Girasole as my project! This massive pi shawl eats 1675 yards of worsted/aran weight wool, double the amount of the second Camp Loopy prerequisites!  It will be 72″ in diameter.


I have wanted to knit Jared Flood’s Girasole for a while now and thought this challenge would give me the nudge I needed to do so. (Although….I am thinking I need a little more than a nudge right now, I need a shove). This will be a wonderful lap throw come next winter!

Since this is a summer Olympic challenge, we were asked to pick a color from our nation’s flag. I picked Cascade Yarns Eco Alpaca, 100% Undyed Baby Alpaca. It is sooooooooo s.o.f.t

This design is very pretty and reminds me of Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Pi Shawl. This is not a surprise to me because I know her writings and designs have greatly inspired Jared Flood.

My two concerns:
1. I have eight skeins of yarn and as of today, the one week mark, I have only knit 1.25 skeins instead of 2.0 skeins….. I won’t cross the finish line at this rate.
2. A certain dog seems to love Girasole as much as I do and when she settles in she likes to ‘scratch’ around before she plops herself down. Girasole has perfectly placed ‘holes’ to put her little claws into to help her get settled in!


About socksformum

An empty-nester who loves to knit and lives in a log cabin in the Rocky Mountains with her Westie, dear husband, and several pairs of knitting needles.
This entry was posted in Knitalongs, Lace, The Loopy Ewe. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Camp Loopy Girasole Cast-on

  1. Jen says:

    It seems as if this Girasole is destined for wee Kenzie. I love that photo !
    now, here is a little :: shove :: to get you going. :)

  2. kathyiniowa says:

    Hi There!

    Thanks for dropping by my blog the other day. Somehow, I had lost track of your blog, and just found it and got caught up. Sometmes google reader fails me! I have thought of you numerous time in regards to the fires. I am so happy that things have calmed down, or seemingly so anyway. Sometimes reality is not actually what is reported. Anyway, I hope you are doing ok.

    Congrats on being a new grandma, btw. It’s a great thing!!! And, yes, I feel very blessed to have BG so close to me. One more year, and then he’ll be in school full time. Not sure how I’ll adjust to that!!! I do cherish every day we have together. And, yes, my New Mexico son did marry – back in March. They are well matched, and we couldn’t be more delighted!

    Take care – k

Leave a Reply

