Knitting in Art

Girl Knitting by a Window

Johann Georg Meyer von Bremen (1813 – 1886, German)

Now doesn’t this painting make you want to sit by a wide open window and knit?

My yarn arrived for the first Camp Loopy Project. Have you heard about Camp Loopy? I enjoyed this virtual knitting camp last summer that I have signed up again. The challenges will help me get some Christmas knitting done which I will appreciate come late November. As usual, there will be three camp projects and if I am able to finish all three then I will receive a nice skein of cashmere yarn. Sound tempting? If it does, check out the details on Sherri’s blog. Knitting for the first project begins May 26.

20120517-160555.jpgThe first challenge is to knit a project using at least 400 yards of yarn. Since the 2012 Summer Olympics are right around the corner Sherri has stipulated that the pattern used be from a designer outside of your own country. I will be knitting my husband a pair of socks designed by the Yarn Harlot (Canada) called Earl Grey. I ordered a skein of Dream in Color Smooshy in a nice manly color called Jungle Cloud. There are 450 yards on the skein and I expect to use most of it since the husband’s feet are large and he likes his cuffs tall.

20120517-160637.jpg

About socksformum

An empty-nester who loves to knit and lives in a log cabin in the Rocky Mountains with her Westie, dear husband, and several pairs of knitting needles.
This entry was posted in Just for Fun, Knitting in Art, The Loopy Ewe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

