Joy Dare ~ Week 17

The Lord takes pleasure in his people.” Psalm 149:4

There is nothing that concerns our welfare which is not important to him!

I’m thankful for His Word which reminds me that, “the very hairs of my head are numbered.”  And it reminds me that “the steps of a good man are ordered by the Lord; and he delights in His way.”  The reminder that every hair on my head is numbered leaves me confident that Jesus cares about even the trivial things in my life because if he knows the details of my hair he, likewise knows the details of my life.

Some may read this and be skeptical, some may believe in God but think of him as the ‘Deity’ who set things in motion but is not involved in the lives of men on an intimate level while others may think he is only involved in the ‘big’ moments of life.  Not me.  I believe that the breadth of his tender love stretches to even the smallest interests of all His saints.

With this confidence as my presupposition, I am able to turn to Him in all matters.  When I am afflicted I know that He feels that affliction and takes pity on me as a father takes pity upon a troubled child.  He comprehends all my concerns and I am unable to measure the love of Christ.  Oh the breadth of that love!  His goodness is unsearchable.  His great love has brought me – justification, adoption, sanctification and eternal life!

What should my response be to love such as this?  It is not as it should be.

In return for this love I often give him only half of my heart and a cold love.  My response in prayer is fainthearted.  My acknowledgment of his many gifts to me is tardy.  Instead, the ink should be flowing freely from my pen it scratches out a pitifully short list.  This same pen should be writing continually throughout the day with ceaseless praise and thanksgiving.

I am not a desolate wanderer but a beloved child of God,

watched over,

cared for,

supplied for

and protected.

Oh my soul, awaken to the eucharisteos around me, tune thy harp to a glad song of thanksgiving!

20120430-075024.jpg

295. The dance of a young friend, blessing many.
296. Time spent with her mother, my sweet friend for eternity.
297. Hugs from her son who wanted to stay in the room to just to listen to my voice.

20120430-075324.jpg
THREE GIFTS FRAGILE
298. A dandelion head, so delicate that a slight breeze or a child’s breath upon it and it will be no more.
299. Each breath we take, each breath we exhale a fragile gift from Him.
300. My emotions when I’m tired, but always thankful that I have joys and sorrows.

20120430-075926.jpg
THREE GIFTS UP CLOSE
301. The inside of a flower, so beautiful, and another clever design of our Creator-God.
302. Fabric on bags inspiring me to make a few of my own.
303. Lavender starting to grow in my flower bed, the wonderful smell when I brush my fingers along the leaves.

20120430-080310.jpg
304. The sunlight reflecting through pressed leaves reminding me of the Creator.
305. Light reflecting off a crystal bowl, mesmerized by the work of man’s hands albeit imperfect in comparison.
306. My daughter reflecting His love to her patients, her gift of mercy developing with the passage of time.

20120430-080534.jpg
307. A beautiful sunrise, another reason to give thanks, the beginning of a year of sunrises photographed and the start of a Sunrise Scarf.

20120430-082223.jpg
A GIFT CLOTH, STEEL, WOOD
308. Waterproof fabric chairs in my special corner.
309. Steel nursing scissors perfect for cutting steeks.
310. Wooden bookshelves housing my many friends and many adventures within the leaves of these pages.

20120430-083056.jpg
311. Rain clouds moving in to drench the parched earth – the smell of rain, the sound of thunder and the flash of lightening.

“For he makes the sun rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the just and unjust.” (Matthew 5:45)

20120430-084833.jpg

Three Gifts ‘Ugly Beautiful’
313. Love bears all things.
314. Love endures all things.
315. Love does not take into account a wrong suffered.

1 Corinthians 13:4-7

Joining this morning in the multitudes of thanksgiving with many others……….

5 thoughts on “Joy Dare ~ Week 17

  1. What a lovely idea, that he is intricately involved in all aspects of my life. I have been struggling lately with migraine issues and it’s hard to “see” him in these but surely he is, somehow.

  2. A sunrise scarf. A year of getting up early to photograph the sunrise? Oh do share! That sounds like a wonderful idea. What led you to it?

  3. So glad to “meet” you via your kind comment on my blog. I just love this community of gratitude gatherers!

  4. Such a beautiful post – I am glad you stopped by my blog, so that I could get a chance to know you! I love the depth of your heart as reflected here…

    AND, one of my goals this year is to learn how to knit socks! Perhaps now I have a blogland friend to help along the way!?

    Blessings on your week, friend…

Leave a Reply

