Yarn Along {The Lazy Couponer}

Not that I’m going for a standing ovation at the cash register like Jamie Chase, author of The Lazy Couponer, did but I could use a few pointers in that overwhelming world of coupons! Nor do I expect to save over $25,000 per year in just 45 minutes a week but the title sure captured my attention and I thought, by reading the book, I just might learn a few things to help with our ever increasing grocery bill.20120404-105650.jpg

I’ve made it through the third chapter and have learned where to find coupons, how to use them and where to get the most bang for my buck. I must confess that I am feeling a little overwhelmed right now. In fact, I probably shouldn’t start implementing any of her tips until I finish the book. That being said, I couldn’t resist a shopping excursion to Gymboree to find several purple outfits for my new granddaughter. And, I felt quite pleased with myself when I received a $25 Gymbucks coupon for my next shopping excursion!

20120404-105758.jpgAlso pictured in the Yarn Along photograph is Cat Bordhi’s New Pathways for Sock Knitters. I had it out last night reading about the Riverbed Sock Architecture. The arch expansion runs beneath the sole. I’ve been told by a friend that this is her favorite of all the architectures in the book and I’m ready to give it a try. Ms. Bordhi says that this sock fits many people ‘exceptionally well, perhaps because it hugs the contours of the foot so naturally, reaching up towards the instep from the hollows of the under-arch.’ Having any of you ever knit this sock?

20120404-105907.jpgMy Thursday knitting group is focusing on finishing WIPS (works in progress) throughout the month of April. I’m working on the sweet little Smocked Yoke Cardigan for my granddaughter in some lovely Sublime cashmere. I selected the size that I think will fit her in the Fall.

Joining Ginny this morning in a Yarn Along to talk about books and knitting…………

6 thoughts on “Yarn Along {The Lazy Couponer}

  1. I love the colour of your project and look forward to seeing it finished.
    I have never lived in a place where coupons are a big thing, (although we have an opportunity to collect points here on the various supermarket and store shopping cards, which are redeemable against stuff or cash back) but have seen folks on the telly making huge savings and getting stuff for free with their coupons, but I wonder if it isn’t a lot more work having to go to the various shops to cash them in? Are they from your local supermarket?

    x

  2. the best way for me to save $25,000 a year in groceries would be for me to keep my husband out of the grocery store.

    I caught Cat Bordhi on Knitty Gritty this past week. She was knitting a sock (wish i could remember which pattern she used). The Coreolis maybe? It looked really cool!

  3. I have knit the Riverbed pattern. It was one of my favorites to knit. I have also knit the Coriolis socks also. Cat Bordhi is a sock knitting genius. One of these days I would like to get another knitter’s foot measurements and try to knit a pair of socks by using her number system.

Leave a Reply

