Joy Dare: Week 13

Unwavering thanks? Thirteen weeks into the Joy Dare I am no longer seeing this opportunity of remembering and giving thanks as simply a daily task of spiritual discipline. Now I see it as an essential fabric of my being. This discovery was made during the past week when I skipped a couple days because life got ‘too busy’ and I forgot to slow down and e-u-c-h-a-r-i-s-t-e-o. I quickly digressed to spiritual sluggishness, me-centeredness and was not altogether kind towards my husband. When I slowed down enough to see what was going on I realized that, regardless of how busy life becomes I can never let my thanksgiving waver. Each day I must take deep breaths of e-u-c-h-a-r-i-s-t-e-o.

Gifts #189-208 20120402-114412.jpg Almost gone – birdseed for all the little birdies stopping by for snacks, so thankful for their visits.

Almost gone – snow in the shade of trees, thankful spring is approaching.

Almost gone – my bronchitis,  thankful-so very, very thankful.

20120402-114651.jpg
 A song, Mercies Anew, budding the inspiration for a topic to teach on.

Words written by Spurgeon about the woman who asked for the crumbs beneath the table – the crumbs were enough because she understood who He was and had unwavering faith. More clarity for teaching.

A painting of that woman giving full birth to the theme and the study’s introduction.

20120402-114916.jpgThankful He, the Savior-Redeemer, stood silent in the presence of His accusers.

Thankful that God does not unfold His mysteries to the wicked, including Caiaphas.  The crucifixion would not be a circus show.

Thankful for that blessed silence as he stood being falsely accused, that silence lay at the heart of our redemption!

Thankful that the Redeemer, when under oath, proclaimed who He was.

20120402-115418.jpgEntwined – yarn fluid through gifted fingers giving way to products of beauty.

Entwined – my husband’s fingers in mine, still reaching for my hand every time we pray, 29 years of fingers being entwined.

Entwined – a mother’s heart entwined to her child’s heart throughout a lifetime.


A gift heard – Being reminded in a sermon of Lois, the grandmother of Timothy who taught him truth; hearing other supporting verses showing the importance of godly grandparents.

Holding the ‘crown of thorns’ from the Remembrance Table in my hands, being aware of its thorns, placing it with care in a box for storing all the while remembering the One who wore it for me.

Hoped for ….. His imminent return.

20120402-120118.jpg

His promise. That those who die in the Lord “sleep in Jesus” until the fulness of time shall bring the fulness of redemption – remembering & giving thanks for a grandmother that spoke to me of God. ( 1 Thessalonians 4:14)

His promise. That when I am anxious and turn to Him through prayer, supplication and with THANKSGIVING the peace of God which surpasses all understanding will guard my heart and my mind. (Philippians 4:6-7)

His promise. That when I am weary He will give me rest. (Matthew 11:28-29)

His promise. That He supplies my every need. (Philippians 4:19)

His promise. That if I have faith nothing will be impossible. (Matthew 17:20)

5 thoughts on “Joy Dare: Week 13

  1. You’re feeling better, yay! Your fingers entwined – so wonderful.
    Your list lovely, especially the silence of our Savior. I need to let that sink in, and remember it when I feel wronged. Thank you.
    Have a blessed Easter,
    Laurie

  2. So glad you’re bronchitis has improved! I love the image of your fingers entwined with your husband’s for 29 years — such a visual of the love one for the other. Your list is especially moving at this season of the year. Thanks for sharing with us today.

  3. Oh sweet sister this is a beautiful post. I totally understand bout letting life keep us from giving thanks. So glad you are feeling better. Lovely list to share with us. Blessings on this most special week.

Leave a Reply

