Joy Dare: Week Eleven

dewitt-debbie-words-to-live-by-faith

Spurgeon says, in today’s morning reading that, “Faith is the telegraphic wire which links earth and heaven – on which God’s messages of love fly so fast, that before we call He answers, and while we are yet speaking He hears us.”  He goes on to say that if that telegraphic wire of faith is snapped we cannot receive the promise.  Of course, we no longer have telegraph wires but great truth is found in his analogy.in those.

On occasion, I have experienced someone asking me for something when they don’t really think I will carry through with their request.  I’m sure you have, too.  The look on their face, the tone of their voice tells it all.  I first feel pain that they have no faith in me.  Next, I wonder why they bothered to ask.

If have no faith – in vain I call to God and my prayers are, dare I say it – pointless.  Faith links me to the Great King and clothes me with the power of God.  Faith engages the all powerful God on my side and ensures that all his attributes are in my defense.  But without faith on my part, how can I receive anything of the Lord because faith is the only way I can obtain blessings.  

I ought to take good care of my faith and if I don’t have enough faith that God will answer a specific prayer then perhaps I should postpone that prayer until I can come into His presence with faith.  I don’t want to waver in unbelief but instead grow strong in faith, giving glory to God.” (Romans 4:20)
Continuing to count to 1000 in 2012……..
multitudesonmondaysbutton2-1

160. A gift of wind blowing through the trees as I sit here reading and marveling that this is the only sound that breaks the silence.
161. A gift of water and its benefits upon the human body.

IMG_0192

162. ROUND pizza pan, thankful for tools that make homemade pizza a breeze.
163. ROUND knitting needles making the knitting more pleasurable because of their beauty.
164. Knitting socks in the ROUND, thankful for green wool socks that will keep the toes warm on St. Patrick’s Day.IMG_1588
165. Again and again in Gethsemane the Savior casts himself on the Father’s bosom in earnest supplication, but there is no answer to his anguished cry. Heaven is SILENT, I am thankful.

166. Louder the grief and pain is expressed by the agonizing Savior, more urgent becomes his prayer; but the Lofty One is SILENT and heaven seems barred with a thousand bolts. I am thankful.

167. Thankful for SILENCE in my home this morning because joy was found in seeing the awful silence in Gethsemane – there was no other way than the way of the cross.

Making Bread
168. Ambrosia Honey- the work of bees, His creation is amazing?
169. A twenty year old dehydrator that still works.

Granola
170. A newly found granola recipe, simply delicious, thankful for taste buds.
171. The air filled with sweetness and spices – granola baking, curried lentils on the stove and homemade bread in the oven, thankful for olfactory bulbs.
172. Sweet time of discussion this morning in my Bible study about how impatience and irritability are closely related, very thankful for words from the heart.
173. Thankful for the realization that no one else causes me to be angry but the cause lies deep within me – usually my pride, or selfishness or my desire to control.
174. Thankful I can choose how I will respond to the hurtful actions of others toward me.

Love covers a multitude of sins” (1 Peter 4:8)

“It is to one’s glory to overlook an offense.” (Proverbs 19:11)
Red Flannel Nightgown
175. Red flannel nightgown and warm green socks in a chilly house.

176.  A patient husband waiting an extra long time just because I wanted to sync my new phone to my laptop.
A Harvest Sampler
176. An unfinished Harvest Sampler found in storage, thankful my old eyes can still see to stitch on linen.

177. Finished in the wee hours, new warm socks, always thankful for woolies and the joy that comes through knitting!

INCOMPREHENSIBLE, GREAT, AND GLORIOUS GOD

Help me to feel more of the purifying, softening influence of religion

          its compassion, love, pity, courtesy,

          and employ me as thy instrument

                         in blessing others.

8 thoughts on “Joy Dare: Week Eleven

  1. What a delightful post. Simply wonderful.
    Oh “Thankful I can choose how I will respond”…. What a gift! Thank you for reminding me of that one.

    And I’m drooling over those socks…what handiwork! You are amazing.
    So, how much would it cost to have you make me an exact pair? size 8. I’d love to put them on my birthday wishlist!

    So thankful to have “met” you. What a blessing you have been to me today. Thank you!

    All for Him (with hugs to you),
    Nikki

  2. His creation is amazing~and your illustration of His creativity and work here is lovely as well. What a beautiful job on those socks. I don’t knit, but my daughters do. All your warm photos are wonderful to see.

Leave a Reply

