Yarn Along {The Life of Pi}

Two hobbies that bring joy, knitting and reading – combining those together this morning as I follow Ginny this morning on a Yarn Along.

I am still reading A Tale of Two Cities and enjoying the diverse personalities of Dickens’ characters, he is quite clever in that way.

Life is such that there are lots of great books that I just cannot find the time to read so I ‘listen’ as well.  Husband I listened to Killing Lincoln by Bill O’Reilly and learned much about Lincoln’s assassination.  It was a fascinating story and there were many details talked about that were unknown to me.

I just started  listening to The Life of Pi by Yan Martel.

So far I have learned that zoos are not necessarily bad places for animals, in fact life in a zoo may be better than living in the wild.  You know, regular food schedules.  No predators.  And, I have learned that ‘Pi’ is short for a very long and complicated name that no one ever gets right so lets shorten it to ‘PI – Pie – 3.14’.  This book is very different from the books I typically read but I think I will like it.

The Cross He Bore

To prepare for Easter , I have been reading a little book that is a treasure trove of meditations called The Cross He Bore by Frederick S. Leahy.  These meditations are on the sufferings of the Redeemer, beginning with Gethsemane and ending in the outer darkness.There are many great devotionals out there but as of now, this one is the best I’ve ever read.  If you need to gaze in fresh understanding and gratitude upon ‘the Son of God,’ then this just might be for you.

Smocked Sweater

On the knitting front, I’m working on a sweet little sweater for my granddaughter.  We will be meeting her for the first time in a couple weeks.  Very excited!

7 thoughts on “Yarn Along {The Life of Pi}

Leave a Reply

