Yarn Along {Sock Knitting Master Class}

Following Ginny this morning on a Yarn Along and sharing from a book, a Sock Knitting Master Class book…My Pussy Willow Stockings are finished and may I now have a round of applause, please? These are my very first pair of socks with a toe-up construction and I am grinning ear to ear.

With great embarrassment I confide that several years ago, before Ravelry existed, I started a blog called My First Toe Ups. It was part of Lolly’s annual Socktoberfest and the purpose was to challenge top down sock knitters to learn a new technique, toe up knitting. My co-founder and I collected toe-up patterns and had the links to the patterns on the blog. Many people joined but only two never finished the challenge and I think you may know who one of them was (yes, I hang my head in shame). Later, the group was moved over to Ravelry where I am a non-commenting moderator. But now with the completion of these Pussy Willow Stockings I can stand up proud and be the kind of moderator that would make Cat Bordhi proud!

Sock Knitting Master Class has been an excellent guide navigating me through several techniques new to me. With Cat Bordhi’s additional design techniques I really had no problems catching on and they were quite fun to knit.

I learned Judy’s magic cast-on.

I learned how to knit Cat’s moccasin toe which fits p-e-r-f-e-c-t-l-y.

I learned a round heel worked toe up even though I had to watch Cat’s YouTube video several times and learned that the opera ladies didn’t want to mess up their hair dos when they took off their purl necklaces. The short row wraps were new to me.

The back of the heel has a nice, snug fit. A word to the wise – these heels took three times longer than a standard slip-stitch heel. Each and every slipped stitch had to be twisted by slipping them purl wise through the back loop. I believe this shortened and tightened the elongated stitches which the designer says will increase heel durability.

I used Jeny’s Surprisingly Stretchy method to bind off and finish the Pussy Willows. I’ve heard that tight bind-offs can sometimes be an issue with toe-up socks and I guess that is why this particular bind off is called ‘Jenny’s SURPRISINGLY Stretchy’ method. These may be the best fitting socks I’ve ever knit which leaves me hankering to knit more toe-ups but I will have to wait.

I’m pleased, I’m happy, I’m dancing a jig because the next pair of socks I will be knitting in the Sock Knitting Master Class will be for St. Patrick’s Day!

9 thoughts on “Yarn Along {Sock Knitting Master Class}

  1. They are absolutely beautiful! And now I’ve got to go out and buy another book….as I have never done toe up either! Nice job!

Leave a Reply

