Asymmetrical Cables Finished

I have held on to the Pagewood Farm Yukon yarn for several years waiting for a bold pattern to come along.  Asymmetrical Cables, a design by Cookie A., proved to be the perfect yarn to showcase the movement of cable panels with garter-stitch interiors.  Although the description in SOCK KNITTING Master Class said, ‘they are actually quite easy and enjoyable to knit’ I found them to be a challenge.  But even so, they were very enjoyable, so much so that I would say they might possibly be the most interesting socks I have ever knit.

The two cable panels start out parallel to each other and then they diverge.  One cable panel ‘travels’ across the front of the leg and the top of the foot.

The concept of symmetry is strong in the pair of socks – the front traveling cables are mirror images in the pair and they travel in mirror image directions as well.  I must confess that the whole ‘traveling’ cable technique gave me some problems and I frogged back several times to fix mistakes.

I really like how the gusset looks on this sock.  The second cable did not travel but instead progressed straight down the outside of the foot.  It wasn’t until I was writing this post that I realized this is a great way to remember which sock goes on what foot.  I had them on backwards when I started taking my pictures and had to do another photo shoot.

These socks were worked from the top down.  The heel flap was the standard round heel slip stick one with the exception that it was worked on the wrong side.  The stitches were slipped purl wise on the wrong side and then a purl stitch was worked.  I’m not really sure why Cookie designed them like that but it was an interesting variation.

Design Techniques 

  • top down construction
  • designing with cables
  • working with four double-pointed needles
  • elastic cast-on
  • round heel
  • wedge toe
  • Kitchener stitch
I think I am going to learn a lot knitting my way through Ann Budd’s Sock Knitting Master Class!

3 thoughts on “Asymmetrical Cables Finished

  1. They look lovely! My friend got this book for christmas. I had a quick flick through it and there are some lovely pattern in there. Can`t wait to see what you knit next!
    Also…. wondering about Rosemarkie…… 🙂

  2. Very pretty socks and you are right, that is a lovely gusset. I did a pair of wool socks for one of my son’s that had a gusset very similar and have been wanting to cast on another pair since I liked them so much.
    Enjoy your class.

Leave a Reply

