Yarn Along {I Am Half-Sick of Shadows}

I am half-sick of shadows …. said the Lady of Shallot

I Am Half-Sick of Shadows, a Lady of Shallot painting (1918) by John William Waterhouse

I Am Half-Sick of Shadows, a book by Alan Bradley

It’s Christmastime, and the precocious Flavia de Luce—an eleven-year-old sleuth with a passion for chemistry and a penchant for crime-solving—is tucked away in her laboratory, whipping up a concoction to ensnare Saint Nick. But she is soon distracted when a film crew arrives at Buckshaw, the de Luces’ decaying English estate, to shoot a movie starring the famed Phyllis Wyvern. Amid a raging blizzard, the entire village of Bishop’s Lacey gathers at Buckshaw to watch Wyvern perform, yet nobody is prepared for the evening’s shocking conclusion: a body found, past midnight, strangled to death with a length of film. But who among the assembled guests would stage such a chilling scene? As the storm worsens and the list of suspects grows, Flavia must use every ounce of sly wit at her disposal to ferret out a killer hidden in plain sight. (this synopsis was taken from Goodreads)

I enjoy art history immensely but am going to resist to telling you details about the John William Waterhouse painting shown above.  All you really need to know is that it is a painting of the Lady of Shallot.   And what does The Lady of Shallot have to do with my book review today? Have you ever read the Victorian ballad by Lord Alfred Tennyson about her?  (Camelot?  Sir Lancelot? )  The catchy title of Alan Bradley’s fourth Flavia de Luce mystery is a line from the poem.  He always starts with a quote from a book or poem and you usually don’t know what in the heck it means until you are partway through or even finished with the book and then you suddenly have an ‘aha’ moment.  I continue to be enamored with the Flavia de Luce series and this fourth book appears to be destined to receive many stars in its final rating, at least from me.

This week I’m working on the Jeweled Cowl with a group of knitters on Ravelry .  This is the first time I have worked with beads in my knitting and am enjoying it.  The pattern is simple yet elegant and I can see another one in my future.
In fact, admiring the Lady of Shallot in her beautiful shades of red this morning in the Waterhouse painting has brought to mind some heavenly lace yarn I have in those very shades of red.  What do you think?  Wouldn’t this yarn look sumptuous with beads?  Does any beaded pattern flood your creative mind as you feast your eyes on the colors?  I’m all ears for recommendations!
Joining Ginny this morning on a Yarn Along to chat about books and our knitting.

4 thoughts on “Yarn Along {I Am Half-Sick of Shadows}

  1. That series sounds great… I love the literary references. The beads look great too, I have never tried that because I’m scared of dropping them all over the floor.

  2. Stunning Rebecca, just stunning.
    I wanted to ask if you like doing the work for the Master Knitter’s status ? I haven’t started yet, really having no plans to until July when my daughter and her family move. I am having a really hard time with this move and wanted something to work towards and keep me busy.

  3. Oh goody, another mystery series to lose myself in. Your Jeweled Cowl is just lovely and very tempting. I have been watching your progress with great anticipation. The Lady of Shallot always reminds me of “Anne of Green Gables”.

Leave a Reply

