Living Fully Right Where I Am

Joining with others on a Joy Dare this afternoon as I dare to live fully right where I am and chronicle things each day that I can be thankful for.  I’m attempting to capture those things in photography and will continue until I reach One Thousand Gifts……

25. I witnessed happiness in a friend whose husband watched her children all day so we could spend the day together.  Friends for many years, we are kindred sprits and both of us needed time together.  So, I guess we were both happy.

26. I shared in happiness with another friend when we found a great bargain on some candlesticks and used ‘free money’, gift certificates. We each bought a set.

27. I watched happiness flicker across the faces knitters admiring the happy colors of a shawl. Lots of smiles!


28.  A gift that made me laugh.  My husband, not being much of a fruit eater and only wanting me to buy fruit when it was cheaper and ‘in season’ has recently discovered clementines and he eats several a day.  This week he brought home another bag which he said was a gift for me and then he asked with a slight hesitation in his voice, “Do you think these little cuties are seasonal?’


29.  A gift that made me quiet – time spent in the Word of God, I treasure this time.

30.  A gift that made me pray – someone gifted me a grandmother’s brag book.   I pray for my soon-to-be-born granddaughter almost every day!

31.  One thing from the sky – thankful I had a fitful night of sleep allowing me to rise early enough to see this beautiful sunrise.

32.  One thing from my memory – “The heavens are telling the glory of God; and their expanse is declaring the work of His hands.” Psalm 19:1  This verse usually comes to mind when I see the beauty of stars at night but this morning, when I saw the glorious sunrise, I saw the verse from another perspective!

32. One thing ugly-beautiful.  An art class in Old Colorado City crocheted these plastic squares and hung them up along the fence to distract from an ugly scene of dumpsters behind the fence.  I thought it was beautiful gift for those who walked by.  Just one more picture for you because I really liked these ……..

33. A gift I saw only when I got close up – french knots on a beautifully worked crewel pillow.

34.  Another gift I saw when I got close up – my daughter’s beautiful green eyes.  It is not as if I had ever noticed them before but as she relayed a story to me of how the DMV person tried to insist she had blue eyes when she knew she had green, I looked all the closer at her eyes.  Yes, they are green and are exactly like her father’s eyes – I’m thankful for these green eyes!   Isn’t it a marvelous gift that God gives little pieces of two people who love each other in their offspring?

This morning I was about to start working on my Jeweled Cowl and it sat waiting on the arm of my comfy chair as I made the first cup of coffee for the day.  This is my first attempt at incorporating beads into my knitting.  When I sat down the beads caught my eye in the sunlight and I thought how very pretty they were.   So…….

35.  Up close – beads in knitting.  I’m thankful that such a simple embellishment can add great beauty to plain cowl.

6 thoughts on “Living Fully Right Where I Am

  1. WOW — your photography is stunning.
    What a neat way to capture the Joy Dare!

    I am thrilled that you got time with your friend — what a luxury. As a mom of small children, I definitely relate to her excitement, gratitude and joy!

    And I love the story about your daughters eyes. 🙂
    I am subscribing… I am a knitter also, though I don’t have a lot of time for it these days!
    Have a WONDERFUL day!

  2. What a lovely post! The photos, the thoughts. I’ll be stopping back by most certainly. My soft leather ESV is on my list of thanks as well. Visiting your Colorado Rockies annually is one of the gifts I hold closest to my heart. Thank you for a peek into your world.

  3. A blog friend just sent me a link to your blog, and I’m so glad she did! I’m in Colorado too–in Denver. But my parents live on ten acres in Golden, where my mom knits! I’m passing you along to her as well!

    Always love “meeting” a fellow Coloradoan online, and especially one with such talent! Beautiful photos!

  4. I wanted to stop by and say thanks for visiting yesterday from Ann’s. Life is a precious miracle and I am so grateful for the graces I have in my kiddos everyday. I love to be able to share them. Looks like you have a lil grandbaby on the way too. God is good! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

