Multitudes on Mondays

I have accepted a dare, a joy dare, along with many others who have been changed in a most remarkable way by reading Ann Voskamp’s book called One Thousand Gifts.  January’s Joy Dare will be captured  in photos as I record three gifts a day.  The challenge is to record one thousand gifts in 2012.  These are small blessings that surround me -gifts from God that go unnoticed I need to be thankful for.  In the busyness of life they often go unseen but as you start to open your eyes to the beauty around you the joy in your heart grows proportional to the thankfulness.  At least, that was what happened to me in 2011 with my first One Thousand Gifts journal.

3 graces from people I love:

1. A husband who appreciates the socks I knit for him.

2.  A daughter’s happy & loving disposition.

3.  A father-in-law who said “I love you.”

light that caught me, a reflection that surprised me, a shadow that fell lovely:

4.  Living in the Rocky Mountains.

5.  Homemade Pie Crust

6.  Fresh Snow Sugar

a gift in my hand:

7.  The gift of creating beauty through knitting – a beautiful set of double point needles from my daughter.

a gift I walked past:

8.  The gift of art – a watercolor painting in this Joy bag gifted from an artist friend.

a gift I sat next to:

9.  The gift of finding companionship in a dog who sits beside me (or above me) every morning.

“The only place we have to see before we die is the place of seeing God.  And His presence is everywhere for those who slow to see.”

2012 Dare to Joy


12 thoughts on “Multitudes on Mondays

  1. It’s amazing how one can open one’s eyes to all the thing we have around us to be thankful for, things that always (often, anyway) has been there all along. I’m grateful for Ann’s book coming my way (I can’t even remember how now) starting all this and bringing so many lovely blogs in my way as well. Amazing!
    Thank you for the comment on my post, bringing me here. You have a blog with a warm feel to it 🙂 friendly!
    Good luck with the new camera body! And may the old one live long enough for the new one to arrive 😉
    Pax!

  2. I love your socks! I wish I lived somewhere cold enough to make learning to knit worthwhile! You have an artist’s eye. Blessings as you count your second thousand and more!

  3. It’s wonderful to meet you! Thank you for stopping by my site. I loved your Joy Dare list – admittedly, I’m behind in reading the January challenge, so hopefully I can catch up! So happy to find your site – my oldest daughter was taught to knit by her auntie and I’ve started crocheting hats again. I live in the southeast so we don’t get wear wool socks but it may make a wonderful community service project. I’ll return often – maybe I can graduate to knitting?!

Leave a Reply

