Yarn Along (When I Should Be Working on Christmas Presents)

Following Ginny this morning to find out what all the bookworms are reading and knitting …..

Why didn’t I hire that elf back in early November?  WHY didn’t I knit these Chrismas presents in July like I promised myself I would?  I know, I know…just about every knitter I know is saying the same thing right now.  Fortunately, my remaining three presents are being knit for three very understanding recipients who will be pleased to get these gifts whenever they are done.

I started Quinnipiac by Leila Raabe and ran out of yarn.  This gorgeous cowl will be for my daughter’s friend and is knit with the same  Malabrigo yarn that I knit her Koolhaus with last year.  I must confess, I bought this Quinnipiac pattern not only for her gift but because I want to knit one for me, too!  This is a pattern that BrooklynTweed featured in his BT 11 Fall Collection and I just so happen to have some Shelter yarn in my stash.

My book for today’s Yarn Along is called A Chance to Die and is the story of Amy Carmichael.  She went to India as a missionary and spent fifty-three years there without furlough.  While there, Amy founded the Dohnavur Fellowship, a refuge for children in moral danger-children who were orphaned or unwanted and sold to the temple.  Her life of obedience and courage is one sure to inspire me so I’m looking forward to burying myself in this book soon, very soon.

Aestlite Shawl will be for my dearest friend in a lovely Malabrigo color called Impressionist Sky.  I can just picture some of those Impressionist paintings as I knit this for my sweet friend.  I’m on the part of the shawl that is perfect for knitting in the dark while my husband is asleep.  Just kidding!  But I am kind of wishing I had some of those Mrs. Weasley magical knitting skills right now!

My husband claimed the Polar Chullo hat when I showed him the yarn.  Although the hat is in subtle natural shades this style is going to be out of his manly comfort zone.  Ear flaps?  Do real men wear ear flaps?  You bet they do and I’m thinking my man is going to look pretty doggone cute in them.

How about you?  Are you busy, busy, busy knitting YOUR Christmas presents?  Read any good books lately?  Following Ginny…..

5 thoughts on “Yarn Along (When I Should Be Working on Christmas Presents)

  1. Like you I’m still juggling a few last minute stocking fillers and wondering which to prioritise.

    These look lovely…well worth waiting for…

    Love the cushion too…did you make it?

    Have a wonderful holiday weekend.
    Deb

Leave a Reply

