Yarn Along on a Sleepy Day

Following Ginny today and her prolific knitting bookworms on a YARN ALONG ……

So, what do I do when I have piles of laundry, Christmas presents to knit, suitcases to unpack?  I decide to switch to another blogging provider.  In the process, I have lost 531 posts on the old provider and so will be starting all over from scratch!

I finished another Christmas present on the plane, Wurm Hat.  This is such a simple satisfying pattern that I was actually able to read my book as I knit.  The book?  Well, I’m still struggling to get through 1984 by George Orwell.  It is well written but I am finding the content to be not only depressing but disturbing as well.  People keep encouraging me to finish it and so I will…eventually.

Back to the WURM.  I am smitten with this Madelinetosh Pashmina yarn.  It is, as my husband says, ‘luxurious.’  That is the word he uses when he knows a yarn is beautiful but can find no knitting terminology to describe it.  The pattern is clever and does indeed remind me of how an earthworm crawls through the dirt.  The purl ridges all lie stacked on top of one another but when you put the hat on and pull it down over your head it stretches out and you can see the knit rows.  I love it!

This hat will be gifted to my daughter’s friend.  She saw it on Ravelry and really liked it.  To me, it looks like something out of a Dr. Seuss book.  I really enjoy knitting for my daughter’s two best friends because they get so excited about whatever it is I make them and they start giving my daughter ‘hints’ to pass on to me.

I’m also listening to Outlander by Diana Gabaldon on my iPod.  The movie is in the works and I’ve heard that the producer is the one who filmed Braveheart.  I enjoy just about anything that is connected to Scotland.

So what is on your needles on this wintry day?  Read any good books lately?

2 thoughts on “Yarn Along on a Sleepy Day

  1. That’s a shame on losing all your posts. Glad I found you again. It’s summer here so I am knitting something light – Trillian for my niece. Also started reading Shanghai Girls by Lisa See which is recommended by a friend.

Leave a Reply

