Yarn Along – November 16

Following Ginny this morning and her literary friends for another …..

As promised, this morning I have some finished photos of

the Heirloom Blanket along with the sweet dress that it will accompany.  Thank you so much for your sweet comments last week about this blanket and its story.

While I was working on the Heirloom Blanket I listened to a great audio book.  It was one of those rare books that you don’t really want to finish.  A Vintage Affair has been on my to-read list for a couple years having been recommended by a friend.

Phoebe Swift, the central character, is a young woman with a lot of things going on in her life.  She is dealing with her parents. A father who should be on archaeological digs but instead finds himself clueless taking care of his newborn baby, dealing with a mother who is obsessed with plastic surgery after her husband leaves her for a younger woman.  She is working through the death of her best friend that leaves her numb.  The death is somehow linked to Phoebe’s ex-fiance who continues to phone her.  She leaves a successful job to open up a vintage clothing shop and through it her healing begins.

Phoebe’s passion for vintage clothing made me want to hop right on out to a vintage shop and buy something from the sixties.  I’m not one who gets caught up in fashion but I found myself captivated by the stories behind the clothing in this story.  Especially, the mysterious story of one blue wool coat. Phoebe has her own sad story that unwinds in the pages of this book.  Can stories have happy endings? Do fairy-tales come true? Well, dear reader, you tell me….

I have to issue a warning about this book before anything else. This book can cause cravings to rush to the nearest vintage clothing store in search of the perfect piece of clothing for you. The author speaks passionately through her characters about the joy of vintage clothing, the history behind it, and the way a certain dress, or jacket can ‘claim’ the person trying it on. Personally I have to admit, I have never really been into vintage clothing but upon reading this book, I have a new respect for it and a great deal of curiosity.

I enjoyed this book. The character development was done well and the story-line continued to draw my interest to the point where I kept trying to find excuses to sit down and knit just so I could listen to another chapter.  Imagine that, finding an excuse to knit!

Speaking of knitting, the husband’s sock is coming on nicely.  One down and another partly finished.  And, I’m working on another stash-buster, number eight I believe.  It is a JANE hat in a lovely coral worsted.

8 thoughts on “Yarn Along – November 16

  1. oh, it is so very lovely and the dress with it just sends it over the top! I think it is more than a blanket, it really is a piece of art….congratulations!
    xx

  2. Such a beautiful gift you’ve made for some lucky little girl! The blanket and dress are both gorgeous and obviously made with such skill and care.
    I’ve been listening to a lot of audio books lately too (too busy knitting to sit down and read a real book ;), and I’m thinking “A Vintage Affair” must be next on my list. Thank you for such a great review!
    Blessings,
    GG

Leave a Reply

