Quilting on a Windy Saturday Afternoon

As with most things, there is more than one way to make a quilt.  Organization is the key for me when working on a large project with many little pieces of fabric.  A lack of organization finds me frustrated and overwhelmed.  I can handle large projects much easier when I follow a logical process and break it up into bite-size pieces.

With snippets of time here and there I was able to get all fabric free from wrinkles prior to cutting.  I broke a cardinal rule by not changing my rotary cutter blade before I started.  If it takes more than one pass with the cutter to get through the fabric, it is time to change the blade.  My dullish blade made the cutting a little more difficult but since the closest store would have entailed an hour round trip on a blustery day I wanted to stay inside I just bit the bullet.

Elizabeth Hartman has some wonderful quilting tips in her book, The Practical Guide to Patchwork.  I especially liked her idea about organizer cards and labels and spent Saturday afternoon making five of these for the five blocks that are in the Party Mix Mixtape Quilt.  

I was then able to use each organizer card to help me stack the fabrics belonging to each block.  After that they went into a clear plastic tub with the applicable organizer card on top of each block section.  This way they won’t get mixed up and I will know exactly how to sew them together by following the organizer card.

The soon-to-be-block-pieces are all nicely organized and waiting for the next step – chain sewing!

The Wee Lass is watching with curiosity and wondering where the yarn and knitting sticks have disappeared to.  What’s up with all this fabric?

4 thoughts on “Quilting on a Windy Saturday Afternoon

  1. I love those prints ! Especially the birdhouses… very cute. Your organizations skills amaze me. And your Wee Lassie is a cute as a … well… puppy ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

