A Month of Fridays with Rosemarkie

“Fasten your seatbelts, it’s going to be a bumpy night!” ~ Margo Channing

For today’s viewing on A Month of Fridays I will be watching the acclaimed classic All About Eve which won six Academy Awards.  This movie has received the most nominations in film history and I’m really looking forward to spending the afternoon watching it and working on the Rosemarkie (Ravelry details here)vest.

QUICK PLOT:  An aging actress faces betrayal, love, career uncertainty, and the challenge of growing old gracefully.

I will spend the remaining half of Month of Fridays at White Cliff by the Sea, Gull Cottage.  The second movie that I will be knitting through today is another black and white classic, The Ghost and Mrs. Muir.  It was a real treat the first time I saw this movie because I was a fan of the television series (1968-1970) that lasted two seasons.

I had a bit of a crush on Rex Harrison back then.  Of course, he never replaced Sean Connery!

So, are you up for a little classic movie trivia quiz?  I’m sure you can answer at least one of these questions and leave that answer in the comments.  🙂

  1. What movie, often considered one of the best movies in cinematic history, did Orson Welles star in, co-write, and direct?
  2. Grapes of Wrath is based on a novel by what author?
  3. What’s the name of George Bailey’s visiting angel in It’s a Wonderful Life?
  4. What famous line ends Casablanca?
  5. What movie starred Katharine Hepburn as a socialite divorced from Cary Grant’s character and pursued by Jimmy Stewart’s character?


5 thoughts on “A Month of Fridays with Rosemarkie

  1. Oooh, I love old movies! I used to sit down in front of the TV and turn AMC on and watch them for hours on end sometimes. I miss those days (well, at least the fact that I could do whatever I wanted all day).

    I’m going to take a stab at your quiz:
    1. Citizen Kane (“Rosebud!”)
    2. John Steinbeck
    3. Clarence
    4. ? (it’s been a while since I saw it)
    5. The Philadelphia Story (really must watch that again!)

  2. 1. I was thinking Rosebud, but not the title so I looked it up – yep! Citizen Kane?
    2. John Steinbeck
    3. I can see his face, but not the name. Won’t remember it until we watch our yearly stint.
    4. ? Actually have never watched this in its entirety (can you believe it?)…Here’s looking at you, kid?
    5. The Philadelphia Story – very cooky! Not any of their best acting in my humble opinion.

    My children and I (and my husband) actually prefer older movies to newer ones. Cleaner and better values (sometimes). We also like them because of the funny clothes and cinematic techniques. Just finished watching African Queen. Will have to get out All About Eve from the library. Didn’t even know there was a movie before the tv series for The Ghost & Mrs Muir.

Leave a Reply

