Yarn Along

From small things

~ Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs. I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading? Take a photo and share it either on your blog or on Flickr. Leave a link below to share your photo with the rest of us! ~

I have started a new book set in post-Spanish Civil War Barcelona.  The book is called Shadow of the Wind and the author is Carlos Ruiz Zafon.  This book was on the Interactive 100 Favorite Booklist and, not only did it get five stars on all the reviews I read, it also looked intriguing.  When I purchased the book in a favorite book shop the male clerk told me it was one of his favorite books and, of course, that made me all the more eager to start reading.

Shadow of the Wind begins with the central character being taken by his father to the secret Cemetery of Forgotten Books, forgotten titles lovingly preserved in a secret library of old.  The initiates are allowed, according to tradition, to take one book from this “cemetery” and are charged to protect the book for life.  After Daniel, the central character, becomes completely engrossed with the book he has chosen he sets out in search of more books by the author.  He can find none and discovers that someone has systematically destroyed all known books by this author.

On the knitting front, I am continuing to work on the second SpillyJane Isidora mitten with stash yarn.  It should be finished by now but I have had a few distractions.  A great big box of yarn arrived from WEBS containing the needed supplies for five Christmas gifts.  That time of the year has arrived for stealth knitting!

joining today with ginny
at small things and the weekly yarn along.
11 thoughts on “Yarn Along

  1. Love your blog, you knit so well, I hope some day get to things with colors like that.
    Thanks for visit me encourage me, we are enjoying Calvert, but I do change somethings, starting by the fact that our main language is Spanish, but there are not HS programs in Spanish so I figure this was the only way to get a valid certificate, maybe you could explain me more of how all this works, because I’m a pioneer (and a crazy woman for most) here.
    That book sounds interesting…

  2. I read The Shadow of the Wind when my son was just born. I loved it too, although the next time I am up at night with a little one, I’ll choose something lighter and fluffier to read! 🙂 I hope you’ll enjoy it as much as I did though.
    The mittens look wonderful – one day I’ll be brave and patient enough for colourwork!

  3. What a fun book site! The one you’ve chosen sounds excellent. I’m embarrassed to report that I’ve never seen Masterpiece Theater, but the most influential woman in my life lived by it (so there’s really no excuse). Those mittens are amazing!

  4. The book you are reading sounds great! I’m going to have to see if our library has a copy and the design on your mittens is beautiful! I have yet to try knitting something like that and am always in awe of it when I see it 🙂 Thanks for stopping by my blog and have a lovely weekend 🙂

  5. oh those mittens, so pretty. i love the colors your using.

    that book came so highly recommended i read it even though i don’t read too much fiction. but i did enjoy it. i’ll have to go look at that website, thank you for sharing.

  6. I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did. Years after reading it, it remains one of my favourites and lives on strongly in my memory. I have lent my copy to so many people its almost needing to be replaced. Thankyou for commenting on my blog mim-pickle.blogspot.com. I take my hat off to you for homeschooling your children, that is an admirable feat I am not up to.

  7. Stealth knitting, lol. I love it. That looks like it’s going to be one gorgeous mitten. Thanks for the book details – I find so many books I want to read just by perusing blogs, especially for Yarn Along posts.

Leave a Reply

