Yarn Along

When I first read about YARN ALONG on Ginny’s blog I knew it would be right up my alley. I enjoy reading books and I am also always on the look out for another great read! How could I resist combining the two things I love most, books and knitting, and sharing them with a community of like-minded folks.

!

And just as I always have more than one project on the needles, I also have my nose in more than one book at a time!

I am most thoroughly enjoying A Duty to the Dead by Charles Todd. The heroine is Bess Crawford, a nurse in World War One whose hospital ship gets torpedoed and sinks. Bess survives with a broken arm and goes back to Great Britain to heal. She made a promise to a dying soldier to convey a message to his family and when she does so gets sucked into a mystery with deathly consequences. Bess isn’t the only one sucked into this mystery!

The piece of knitting sitting atopDuty to the Dead is a Farmer’s Market Bag.  This smocked knitting design is a pattern by Chrissy Gardiner.  When finished this bag will be one of my daughter’s birthday gifts. She has been asking for a bag for quite some time but it just didn’t seem like an appealing knit to me. Chrissy’s pattern has proved my supposition wrong because I just may need to knit a second bag for me.

The other book that I’m reading, or to be more accurate ‘listening’ to, is A Red Herring Without Mustard written by Alan Bradley. This is the third in line of the Flavia De Luce series.  The first was called The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie and the second The Weed that Strings the Hangman’s Bag.  These titles alone make me want to read the books although I must admit, I’m usually almost finished with the book before I can remember what the title is….such tongue twisters!

In this third Flavia de Luce book, Alan Bradley once again scores big with another wildly entertaining tale of 11-year-old Flavia, a girl-sleuth.  Mr. Bradley’s books have me sniggering out loud and hoping there will be a yet another sequel.  In Red Herring Without Mustard Flavia sets out to solve the near-murder of an old gypsy woman taking refuge on the family’s estate only to stumble upon another crime.  Like the first and second book in the series, I eagerly knit through ‘just-one-more-chapter’ to find out what happens next.  There were plot twists, unexpected details and amusing characters that kept my fingers busy knitting and before I knew it I had a stack of QUYNN hats!

So how about you?  Read any good books lately along with your knitting?  If you have, come along on the YARN ALONG!

One thought on “Yarn Along

  1. I like the look of that bag though like you have not thought knitting a bag would be at all appealing. I look forward to the finish.
    I have been listening to books while I crochet – kind of the same thing and yes it makes me keep on going just a little bit longer.
    Enjoy your reading and listening and knitting too!

Leave a Reply

