Camp Loopy Concludes

There is a hint of autumn in the air as summer winds down and Camp Loopy concludes.  I pluck a golden aspen leaf from an aspen tree each morning when I take Kenzie for a walk and drop it into my autumn candle jar when I return.  These golden leaves remind me that in the next weeks they will be in their full glory.

I finished my third, and last Camp Loopy project a couple days ago.  The challenge was to knit an 800 yard project.  I knew that it was highly probable that I wouldn’t be able to complete the project in the remaining time because I had lost ten days on the ill-fated Girasole blanket.


I chose Seraphim because a great portion of it was stockinette stitch with a smaller lace section on the border.  It proved to be a great choice because I was able to finish a few days in front of the deadline.  The Dream in Color Baby is a very nice light fingering weight yarn.  The color I used was called Beach Fog, quite lovely.

The photo makes this ample shawl look small but with the required 800-900 yardage I can testify that it is a mammoth.  It’s wingspan is 72-inches.  It will be nice and cozy this fall.  It has been draped across  my shoulders all week as our temperatures have dipped into the fifties.  I love the color!

Camp Loopy was a lot of fun this summer and I ended up with two shawls and a pair of socks.  I had wanted the last project to be for the very special baby that I hinted about earlier this month but it just didn’t work out.  When I visited my daughter and her husband last month they announced that they are going to have a baby!

11 thoughts on “Camp Loopy Concludes

  1. Congratulations that is very exciting news!

    I guess you will be busy doing some very important baby knitting soon 🙂 Your shawl is beautiful it looks very delicate.

  2. How exciting that you are going to be a Grandma! I would be willing to do a knit a long with you for that shawl if you wanted now that you are not under a deadline. I have wanted to knit Girasole for a very long time.

Leave a Reply

