Camp Loopy Project Two – BFF Socks

The second project for Camp Loopy was to knit a pair of adult socks, mittens or gloves featuring cables.  Oh, how I love cables!  Glorious cables, twisty turny cables, cables, cables!

I enjoyed knitting Cookie’s BFF Socks several years ago when I didn’t even know what ‘BFF’ stood for.  Now I hear the phrase everywhere but just in case you have not, it means ‘Best Friend Forever.’  I have a few of those friends in my life and I’m sure you do, too!  I thought it would be fun to knit this pattern again for someone dear to my heart, my sweet daughter Allison.

Allison is a great friend to many people but she is an extra special friend to her Mum, or “Memo” as she likes to call me.  I’m fortunate to have her living in a nearby town and we talk on the phone almost every day.  When she comes to stay overnight my socks mysteriously disappear, both wool and cotton ones.  Over the past five years she has grown to appreciate wool socks and I like keeping her feet warm with them.  It makes me feel useful resourceful as the mother to a grown daughter. (wink wink)

I let Allison pick out the color for her BFF socks and she chose “Fathom”, a beautiful blue fingering weight Madelinetosh yarn.  Lovely yarn for a relaxing pattern.  If you haven’t knit a cables pattern this is a great pattern to start with.  You only have to deal with a cable needle on every sixth row.

Now that my second Camp Loopy Project is finished and I’m waiting to start the last and final project.  The playing field has been leveled for this project and I suspect there will be many who don’t finish within the one month time frame.  This project can be any pattern as long as it uses 800 yards of yarn.

My third project will be labor intensive and I will be knitting night and day starting August 15th.   I’ve chosen to knit Jared Flood’s Girasole with Dream in Color Baby, an heirloom for a special baby.   This will be a daunting endeavor but I have wanted to knit Girasole ever since the pattern release.  I think I can do it, I think I can!  I am going to give it my all because  I hope to cross that finish line and get my prize, Wollmeise yarn!

6 thoughts on “Camp Loopy Project Two – BFF Socks

  1. Those socks are soooo delicious ! Madelintosh seems to be the most beautiful yarn available right now, and those socks sure show it off well. Lucky, lucky Allison. OMG, that Girasole is enough to knock the breath right outa me. You’re going to knit *that* ???

    If anybody can do it, you can.

  2. Hi Rebbecca I Love your blue socks! I am new to knitting they look quite difficult with the cable pattern but look yummy!!. I had never heard of BBF before either! But a lovely turn of phrase, I live in Christchurch New Zealand we have gone through 2 bad earthquakes on the last six months kntting seems to help calm my nerves.
    My mum just passed away so i am afraid I cant pick her brains about knitting!!
    anyway love the socks!!!

Leave a Reply

