UFO Thursday – A Finished Shawl

Last week’s UFO Thursday resulted in my finishing the Aestlight Shawl that had been lingering on the needles far too long.

Pattern:  Aestlight Shawl

Designer:  The Shetland Trader

Yarn:  KnitPicks Stoll Tonal (Gypsy)

Needle:  US 6 Addi Lace circular

In both the Little House on the Prairie books and television show Ma, Caroline Ingalls, wears a handknit red shawl.  The real shawl is on display at a Little House on the Prairie museum in South Dakota.  Apparently Caroline Ingalls was an accomplished knitter in real life and well known for her knitting and crocheting abilities.  Some of her articles appeared in a magazine for knitters.

I’ve knit this Aestlight red shawl for a dear friend who loves those Little House on the Prairie books. I hope it keeps her warm as she teaches her two children at home.  She is as industrious a woman as Caroline Ingalls and now she can have her very own red hand knit shawl too.

What have I dug out of the UFO pile for today?  Well, on this UFO Thursday I will be knitting some matching baby socks for this sweet little baby hat.  What do you think?  Boy colors?  Or girl?

5 thoughts on “UFO Thursday – A Finished Shawl

  1. Thats Knit Picks??? Wow! What a beautiful shawl, I’m glad you finished it!
    I had no idea there was a Little House museum or that Caroline Ingalls was a real person! All those years of watching Little House and I never knew!

  2. Wow, Mum Ingals really must have been a very hip knitter for sure, to knit a red shawl. I have been fantasizing knitting a red shawl, or throw, square, for some time now . Deep red too. I love that ‘gypsy’ varigated, just gorgeous. Maybe I’ll make somehing from it, as I was eyeing it in the website, but thought it more purple… now I can see, it’s just a gorgeous red, deep red, how I love it. You do such wonderful work SoxMum !

  3. Lovely shawl — that’s such a great shade of red! I grew up reading the Little House books over and over, and I can’t wait until Rainbow is old enough for me to read them to/with her.

Leave a Reply

