Clues, Cruising and Cinnamon Rolls

The final clue was released yesterday for the SockKnitters Anonymous July Mystery Sock, Zirkel.  I stayed up late last night working zealously on the last clue but my poor old eyelids just could not stay open.   Nor could they stay closed when the pooch decided she needed to go outside at six a.m. No doubt my enthusiasm to finish that last clue was enough to keep me from climbing back into bed.

What a fun pattern this was, and challenging.  It is a Zirkel I tell you, a Zirkel!  No doubt the finished pair of  Zirkels will be keeping this Mum’s feet toasty next winter.  Stranded socks are thicker than the average handknit sock because of the yarn that is ‘floated’ across the back as you change colors.

From ‘clues’ to ‘cruising’, I dropped my bike off at the bike shop earlier this week for a much needed tune-up and picked it up yesterday.  I plan to ride it down to the mailbox every day instead of walking.  It took me 27 minutes today — cruising downhill with brakes overheating to the mailbox (wipe-out-on-gravel-fear-syndrom) and pedaling back home with thighs screaming with intense muscle burn.  This will eventually be fun, right?  To be perfectly honest, riding downhill hitting all those washpan bumps did bring audible squeals of glee that I’m sure brought comic relief to any watching eye.

I would really, really like to get a Nantucket wicker bicycle basket to carry the mail home in.  Do you think a basket would look out of character for a mountain bike?  I guess I would prefer to bike in some quaint New England coastal town instead of my mountain neighborhood .  I’m quite certain I would look just like Angela Langsbury in Murder She Wrote.  I can’t say that I’ve seen Nantucket baskets on any mountain bikes in Colorado.  I think these highlanders are more interested in extreme mountain biking, not mail collecting.

From ‘cruising’ to ‘cooking’, my husband has pleading with me for months to make him some cinnamon rolls.  He rises much earlier than I so it is not the easiest feat cooking these tasty buns for him —  that is, unless I get up at some unearthly hour.  However, this morning I just so happened to get up much earlier than normal and he just so happened to sleep much longer than normal, so it worked.

This is an easy recipe if you own a bread machine with a ‘dough’ cycle  and, it is one of America’s most wanted recipes — I know because I bought it off of EBay for one dollar ten years ago.  The recipe is definitely a crowd pleaser but, more importantly, a husband pleaser.  If you are in much need of some praise, go ahead and pull out your bread machine and throw in the following ingredients…go ahead, I dare you!

Mum’s Easy Peasy Cinnamon Rolls

3/4 cup water

2 T melted butter or oil

2 eggs

1-1/2 tsp salt

2 T sugar

3 cups bread flour

1 pkg active dry yeast (quick kind)

Put the above ingredients in your bread machine pan and follow manufacture instructions for ‘dough’ cycle.  When finished, let rise another 30 minutes.  Remove from bread machine and roll 1/4″ thick into a rectangle.  Let rest about 5 minutes.  While it is resting, prepare filling.

FILLING:

1/2 cup sugar

3 tsp. cinnamon

2 T melted butter

Spread filling on dough.  Roll up and cut into 15 rolls using dental floss.  Place cut side down into baking pan (9×13) or slightly smaller.  Cover and let rise another hour.  Bake at 375 degrees 25-30 minutes.

Cool slightly and then top with either 1) Glazed Icing -0r- 2) Cream Cheese Icing -0r- 3) Canned Cake Icing

Glazed Icing

3 T melted butter

1-1/2 cups powdered sugar

1/2 tsp. vanilla

1 T milk

Cream Cheese Icing

8 oz. cream cheese

1/2 cup butter

1 (16 oz) bag powdered sugar

1 tsp vanilla

2 thoughts on “Clues, Cruising and Cinnamon Rolls

  1. The sock looks great & I can understand your urgency to finish it. I can almost smell the cinnamon rolls. Thank you for the recipe.

  2. The sock does look really good! I like stranded socks because they keep my feet nice and warm…….and the purls on the bottom don’t feel so much like Princess Pea to me.

    Get the basket you want. If you don’t see it much, you might start a trend. There have always been bikers in this area, we’re really bike friendly but I see more and more women with baskets, wearing skirts – basically using them as an actual form of transportation, instead of say, looking as if they’ve taken part of their gym routine outside. And yes it will get easier, sooner than you think.

    Cinnamon rolls!!! /swoons

Leave a Reply

