Rosemarkie Beginnings

The swatch for Rosemarkie is finished.  Thanks to Mary Jane Mucklestone, I swatched in a much more enjoyable way which actually left me feeling like I wanted to swatch all the designs in The Celtic Collection and place them in a permanent shadow box for the wall.  Wouldn’t that be a new decorating concept?  At any rate, the swatch is complete and Mary Jane tole me she is going to explain her method soon on her blog so I will let her tell the story.

Rosemarkie doesn’t give me the warm feeling that other Starmore projects have.  I don’t ‘ewe and awe’ over this as I knit.  I’m hoping that will change as I progress but I strongly suspect that this will be one of those projects that I knit for the learning process.  Know what I mean?

The corrugated ribbing is finished and waiting to have its increase row worked.  The beginning has begun on Rosemarkie.

I’m very sad today.  Over the weekend my husband and I had to put down our beloved toy poodle.  It was the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do.  We had him with us for fifteen years and he will be sorely missed.  I’m having a rougher time with it than I ever dreamed I would.  My heart is full and the tears keep coming.

Lucky Penny

Rest in peace sweet Snooky-boy.

20 thoughts on “Rosemarkie Beginnings

  1. I am so sorry for the loss of your puppy! We’ve had our kittens just over a year and I’m amazed by just how much they have come to mean to us in just this short amount of time. Know that you made the right decision so he wouldn’t suffer and hold on to the happy memories.

  2. I love the colours of Rosemarkie, nice and warm. I hope you enjoy knitting it once you get going.

    Sorry to hear about Snooky. It is amazing how much a part of the family they become isn’t it.
    Hugs to you!

  3. Aww. I’m so sorry about your Snooky. 😦

    On a lighter note, the colors in the Rosemarkie are magical.

    I’m so inspired by your colorwork. Someday I’ll explore that further. I need an easy steeking project before I really sink my teeth in.

  4. I am deeply sorry for the loss of your Snooky. I am afraid that day will also come to our house soon and I am aleady very sad. I know exactly how you feel.

  5. Rebecca, I am so sorry to hear about your baby. It is never easy but take comfort in the fact that you loved him enough to let him go. Wish I could give you a big hug right now.

  6. So sorry to hear about your loss, Rebecca. They truly become part of the family, and in so many way, even a closer companion than most humans. I feel your pain, truly I sympathize. He had a very long and happy life though – finding comfort in that fact might be possible – eventually. For now, perhaps those tears are what’s needed. I’ll be thinking of you……
    k

  7. I’m sorry about your Snooky Rebecca – I know how hard it is to lose a beloved pet.

    As for Rosemarkie — I think that although it might be a bit boring to knit (limited shades in an allover repeat motif) – it is going to be spectacular! Knit on!

  8. I’m so sorry to hear about Snooks. I know what a good friend he was. He gave you many good years of friendship, and I know how sorely you must be missing him now.

    The beginnings of Rosemarkie are beautiful, but then I’m a sucker for corrugated ribbing.

  9. Rebecca, I am so sorry to read about your
    Snooky. They do become such an important
    part of the family and I know it is hard for
    you to let go. I will be thinking of you.

  10. Rebecca, SO sorry about the loss of your puppy. I don’t know if you recall but I am a very new pet Mom, three dogs and two kittens in two years and before I did not understand the pet/owner thing. Now I regret the time that went by without them. I am truly sorry for the heartache you must be feeling.

  11. Rebecca, you have my heartfelt sympathy. Our lovely Lucy, a 13 year old golden retriever, is the final phase of her life. An ultrasound showed something very grim and we are treasuring every moment with her until she appears to be in pain. She has been my constant companion.
    I have been, as always, enjoying your beautiful blog. Your stranded work is simply gorgeous.

  12. Oh Rebecca, I am so sorry about your puppy… I didn’t see that part of the post at first glance, but now I am just crestfallen. Hugs to you dear.

Leave a Reply

