New Years EVE 2010

I had a most wonderful Christmas this year with both daughters home, all grandparents present and one fairly new son-in-law in attendance.  We played games, watched movies, ate a lot, laughed a lot and went to a ‘mining town Christmas story’ in Cripple Creek.  We celebrated the birth of Christ at a beautiful Christmas Eve service and we even had a long-overdue family portrait taken.  All knitted gifts were received well, although my son-in-law could not decide if he wanted to wear his Gryffindor bookmark as a hat, a tie or use it as a bookmark.

Jeannifer in her Selbu Modern Hat

Bob wearing his Gryffindor bookmark as a hat.

Jennifer in her Selbu Modern hat and Bob wearing his bookmark as a Gryffindor tie.

“Here, just use it as bookmark, wear this bow and give us a pirate ‘arghhhhh'”

All have gone home now and the Christmas food has been finished off.  All, that is, except for a few pieces of Godiva chocolate.

It is that time of year where we resolve to do better in our lives and we declare those intentions to listening ears.  I was greatly inspired by the last season of The Biggest Looser. I’m not a fan of reality shows and wasn’t particularly interested in watching this one until I saw an episode late one night.  The stories of the contestants moved my heart and I was curious to see the outcome the following week, which lead to another and another.  When I saw how they were able to loose weight despite unsurmountable odds I decided that, I too, could loose these extra twenty pounds I’ve carried around for the past twenty years!

The new season of The Biggest Looser will begin Tuesday, January 4th and I will be joining the contestants and giving you weekly updates of my progress and maybe even a healthy recipe here and there.  BIGGEST LOOSER TUESDAYS!  Please cheer me on if you are able for I sorely need it!

This is the time of year that I take my walking indoors to the treadmill because of treacherous road conditions in the neighborhood but Santa brought me a present this year to put on the bottom of my boots which should help me through the winter………


There is a certain doggy who loves the snow, LOVES the snow….I mean REALLY loves the snow and he can’t be confined to the indoors all winter.

My Resolutions:

  • 3x week running on treadmill
  • 4x week walking down to the mailbox to get the mail and back
  • daily a.m yoga
  • eat healthier
  • 4 dairy products a day
  • more recreational reading
  • less obsessive knitting and more purposeful knitting
  • more blogging
  • write in my journal

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

5 thoughts on “New Years EVE 2010

  1. Such a nice Christmas! I’m glad all went so well. I’m also glad to hear you’ve gotten hooked on the Biggest Loser. I am looking forward to the upcoming season, even though I have watched it since the beginning. I just love how it proves that even the most overweight people can have success with just diet and exercise, no surgery, no pills. I’ve just got 5 extra pounds to worry about, but even I need the encouragement. I recently found the Lance Armstrong site that lets you set goals and track food consumption. http://www.livestrong.com/myplate/
    I found it helped me lose a couple of pounds before Christmas. Now I need to lose them again!

  2. Happy new year to you! I wish you the best of luck in your weight loss journey. I’ve been really lucky in the past year in that the weight I wanted to lose came off thanks to nursing, but I need to get back into shape this year. I’m hoping that by the time the weather is nice enough to be outside, Rainbow will be walking well enough that we can all go for walks/runs together!

Leave a Reply

