UFO Thursday

I have three projects on the needles that are in danger of becoming UFO’s with the approaching Christmas season.  Soon, I will reluctantly set them aside to start on Christmas knitting.  I had hoped to start the new year with a clean slate but I just don’t think that will be happening this year.

My favorite and most soothing project is Brooklyntweed’s Autumn Leaves Stole.  As so often is the case, I was smitten immediately when his newest pattern was revealed on his blog.  I have shamelessly copied his picture to show you how beautiful this stole is but I will quickly direct you back to his site for details if you click this link.

The stole is knit with a worsted weight yarn but I preferred something lighter.  I just so happened to have some Virtual Yarns Hebridean 2-ply in my stash that I was saving for a worthy project.  I think I will be very happy knitting it in Hebridean because I love, love, love this spongy sport weight yarn.  The Sunset Hebridean color is ideal, too.

The second UFO on my needles are my Kai-Mei socks which really seem to be taking forever.  They are knit in an unusual way which has me stumped at the moment.  I’m determined to master the pattern and not let it defeat me so, hopefully, I will be able to show you a finished pair of Kai-Mei’s in Smooshy.  The color is identical to the sample in Sock Innovation.  Happy Apple.  It is a cheerful green that evokes a smile from my face every time I work on them.  That is, until I have to go a-rippin which has happened twice already.

When I was at Epcot last week I picked up this sterling Celtic Knot at the United Kingdom shop.  It is supposed to be used as a necklace but when I saw it I thought it would make a beautiful stitch marker.  Isn’t it lovely?

Speaking of my vacation, most of the knitting I worked on while away was the Black Water Abbey sweater called Vickie.  You know, the one I FROGGED last December.  It called to me from its frogged-and-re-skeined state and told me that I really needed to give it a second chance.  Do you think I’m wishing I hadn’t been so hasty to frog?  The sleeves are finished and this is the right front.  The yarn was imported from Ireland by Black Water Abbey so I hope to wear this finished sweater in Ireland come May.

9 thoughts on “UFO Thursday

  1. Jarod’s new Autumn Leaves Stole is on my list too. All of your projects are very nice.

    I remember KaiMei being discussed in the CookieA Ravelry Group. Lots of people had trouble so maybe they will help?

    I enjoyed your beautiful photos and details of your Epcot trip. Just beautiful!

  2. I love your projects and I have a question
    about the Hebridrean yarn and how to order
    it from virtual yarns. Do they give the
    convert the price in American dollars? I
    have thought about ordering some of their
    yarn before but I find it confusing. Love
    the BWA sweater and have yarn to begin one
    after the holidays. Great seeing your
    projects! Happy Halloween.

  3. OMG… the pendant I have been searching for ! I can’t find one , but that is just like it. Where is this place you found it? Perhaps I can find one there…. online? I love your blog, seriously I do. Just delicious. YOU WILL WEAR THE MAY SWEATER… In Ireland? I SO want your life ! 🙂

  4. Love the scarf & the color of the yarn. I am sure you can easily pick up these projects again after Christmas. I am still deciding on my Christmas knitting.

  5. Just stopping by to say HI. I realized just now that we haven’t had an update from you in quite some time. I hope you’re doing well and FEELING well. Merry Christmas to you and yours!

Leave a Reply

