Waiting Patiently to Spin

I searched far and wide to find a Cascade Mt. St. Helens spindle and found one at last at The Acorn Street Shop in Seattle, Washington.  After several recommendations, I knew this was the one I wanted an  the fact that it seemed to be sold out everywhere on-line made me want one all the more…….

This gorgeous roving is hand-dyed BFL by Enchanted Knoll Farm.  The color is “Carmelita” and I bought it at the Loopy Ewe.  Several of you had suggested I start with a BFL roving.  I know nothing about this particular brand other than being mesmerized by the beautiful shades of color.  I’m saving it for my first ‘real’ project.  I bought some un-dyed Corriedale for the class.

My class is next week and as I wait patiently for it I’ve devoured Priscilla A. Robert’s book called Spinning in the Old Way. She recommends a few practice techniques using sportweight yarn before actually delving in to the roving.  So I’ve practiced a bit and I’ve viewed a few videos on YouTube.   I’ve found they all differ somewhat from each other which causes me to be a little hesitant about spending too much time practicing.  I would hate to develop some bad habits right off the bat before I’ve even had a class!

Wheeeeeeeee …………

11 thoughts on “Waiting Patiently to Spin

  1. Congratulations on learning to spin, Rebecca! Corriedale pencil roving is very easy to spin but the BFL is also nice. Soon you will be addicted – like the rest of us.(vbg)

  2. That’s some beautiful fiber you’ve got! Don’t be afraid to use it — I think you’ll find that you’ll have a much easier time spinning if you’re using good quality fiber. EKF has some good stuff.

  3. Looks like you’re on the right track. That is the same book that I had/have. I still sett my twists using her recommendation – (I “cook” my yarn). I’m so anxious to see what you produce, and how much you love it. Both spinning and knitting with handspun – an entire new door is opening for you….. (watch out the first step thru is a doozy……)

  4. You look like you’re all set! You’ll find there is no one true path to spinning. There are all sorts of spinning and drafting techniques, none are bad, just different. I say go for it. If you need some suggestions as to where to get cheap (er) practice fiber that’s still spinnable, let me know.

  5. Also, I sent you a couple of invites to Ravelry spinning groups, first the Beginning Spinners, second to Spindlers. There’s a boatload of great advice there.

  6. The spindle and the fibre are both beautiful. It’s a funny thing about human nature the harder it is to get something we really want the more detirmened we are to get it. I am much the same. I have that book too and planned a while back to learn to spin but haven’t tried it yet. I look forward to see what you make from your spun yarn.

Leave a Reply

